We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”
Review of Nur

Nur
Ranked #279 of 2,413 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $33
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here several times and each time: the service is great, the restaurant itself is beautiful and the food......nom!
My friend and I both love eating here, it's a real hidden gem. It's just across the river from the city centre, a small 5 minute walk from the main station, but I think it's location may be why hardly anyone seems to know about it. I make a point in telling people how good it is because they so deserve the business. I'll be back again very soon!

Helpful?
Thank highriseninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    73
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and myself went to this restaurant as part of a Glasgow's Great Deal Voucher which we paid £14.99 for. The restaurant is quite small and intimate with an upstairs mezzanine. The staff are very frendly and professional. For our deal we had Lamb Koftas, Chicken and Pototo Tagine, Egyptian Flatbread and Egyptian Rice. Also included in the deal was a pot of hibiscus or mint tea which was delicious. The food was presented really well and looked appetising and the tast was amazing. The chicken was so tender it melted in the mouth. The restaurant does not serve alcohol but you are allowed to take your own in and there is a corkage charge for wine. I would definately recommend this as somewhere different from having an Indian or Chinese definately worth a visit. They do a 2 course pre theatre for £12.95 and a three course pre theathre for £15.95. Go you will not be dissappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msmileco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“If this restaurant was in the city centre you wouldn't be able to get a table!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Food was fantastic, service great and the space was lovely. Pharaohs Feast thanks to a voucher, lamb melts in the mouth, humus fantastic even the tea was great! Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catt_231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely food & nice staff”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went here on a groupon voucher & 1 person paid for full price for their own meal & we also had starters. We took a bottle of wine (£3.95 corkage) but there is a spar across the road if you want alcoholic drinks but don't want to take them with you. The food is freshly cooked to order and you do have to wait for it but the surroundings are pleasant so it's no big deal to wait. Every course was very tasty and well presented. The hibiscus tea at the end of the meal is lovely & refreshing. Unfortunately we were too full for the excellent turkish delight ice cream and baklava we had had on a previous visit. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evybiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We purchased a discount voucher online for Nur as we were heading to Glasgow for a show at the SECC and,as we'd been to Egypt a couple of times,we thought it a good idea to try out Glasgows version of Egyptian cuisine. .. What a pleasant surprise! The Phaorohs feast we chose had a limited but sufficient choice plus we also chose a starter from the A-La-Carte menu... Gillian, who was very pleasant and helpful pulled another table next to ours as she explained a table for two wouldn't be big enough for all the dishes comng our way.. and she was right! the food came out and was well presented... We loved the way the rice was shaped like a Pyramid... better still all dishes were delicious, from the Lamb Tagine, the chicken main and the mixed bean with sausage starter, the flat bread and dips ... and a nice touch from Chef .. a new dish he was trying out was presented to us (a doughball filled with minced lamb - wonderful again). It was a lovely dining experience enhanced with excellent friendly service.
Nur doesn't have a drinks licence but have a BYO policy and Gillian kindly put our unchilled wine in the freezer while we perused the menu. If there was a downside it was that the restaurant wasn't busy but as we were there at 5.30pm on a Tuesday night so it's understandable. It's the type of place that,if busy,the atmoshpere would be perfect I think.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nur also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Nur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing