We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

As most reviewers have noted, the staff is very friendly. The rooms however, leave a lot to be desired. We had a Club room on the 4th floor - very old carpeting and the ceiling is peeling. The pullout sofa bed was basically unusable due to its age. The bathroom light was detaching from the ceiling and hadn't been cleaned in a long time. Just because a hotel is old doesn't mean you neglect upkeep and updating. Certainly not a 4 star - a 2.5 in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    445
    411
    259
    185
See reviews for
193
576
86
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton Lancs
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Arrived too early for check in, but friendly, helpful staff suggested we left our luggage as we were anxious to start our sightseeing of Glasgow. Returning to the hotel later, check in was quick, efficient and friendly. Both our rooms were clean, nicely furnished, beds very comfortable, good size bathroom with clear concise instructions for the shower (other hotels please note). We had booked to have dinner in the hotel, this was a well cooked and presented meal in pleasant surroundings.
We had a good selection of buffet dishes and also more dishes to order on a menu (included in the price) at breakfast no danger of us going hungry.
All the staff were courteous and helpful we will certainly return to this hotel.
The location of the hotel is very central, the hotel is the oldest on George Square built in the Georgian era.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olive064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the Millenium Aug 2013 and I can't really fault it. It's an old building - Georgian, I'd say, lovely high ceilings - and some parts of the building are a bit tired, but it's nice to have some character. Nearby are lots of restaurants as well as a shopping centre, as well as Queen Street station. Can't comment about the food as I didn't eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: I slept at the front which wasn't too bad with the window open, but if you are sensitive to nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is OK, a bit tatty round the edges. I had a terrible nights sleep and found the bed awful but others may disagree. I could hear the announcements from the train station to the rear which was a bit annoying. You have to pay for internet connections which is a bit off given the price of the rooms.

The food in the restaurant was delish but breakfast the following morning was very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _KarenAnn_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked through a discount site - priceline.com - and they messed up reporting to Millenium that our party had 5 total, 3 adults and 2 kids. Reported we had only 4, so would have been a disaster to have 2 rooms with 2 doubles. Thanks muchly to the staff for changing us out on one room, to a club room that was large enough to accomodate a cot, and we had sleeping space for 5 as needed. Found large variation in our two rooms. Room at the back, by Queen Street, was small and cramped, barely room to walk around the bed. Room 333. Room at the front, overlooking George's Square was so large we could have hosted a cricket match - with slight exageration. Room 314

This is an old hotel in a great location. Elevators were very small and cramped, but there is a great wide set of stairs going up to the 4th floor as a spacious alternative. Ceiling in the bathroom of the front room was completely damaged by water damage, brown and moldy 12 feet up. But the bathrooms in each room had been recently updated with oversize tubs, water supply, and toilets that generated a small hurricane when flushing.

Tolerable re-work on an older property, great mattresses, worked well for sleeping purposes. And they had the nerve to try to charge 5 pounds for WiFi. Mary Queen of Scots would have been appalled at that pricing plan even it had been offered when she was travelling. Prehistoric to charge for WiFi. I expected to look out the window and see dinosaurs still roaming this section of the UK.

Hard to see this qualifying as a 4 star property.

I bumped rating up from 3 to 4, based on excellent service from front desk staff in getting us into two rooms that were workable for our party of five.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook George's Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJ99989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is advertised as a four star hotel and although the lobby and the restaurant are very nice, I would not consider this a four star hotel based on the rooms. I reserved the room at a discount site, so I understand this means I won’t get the best of rooms. In any case, I found the “double bed” to be rather small (the equivalent was a full size bed in the US – not queen or king) and the air conditioning did not work at all. Although the weather in the UK rarely requires AC, we were in Glasgow during an unusually hot July and in the afternoon, the room became uncomfortably hot.

On the positive side, the hotel is located literally next to Queen Street train station (you don’t even have to get rained on to get to the trains) and right in view of George Square. You really couldn't ask for a better location for a downtown hotel. There are several good pubs and restaurants within walking distance and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Well where do I start?
Booked the room online, £69 for a twin room including breakfast. Thought for £69 that it was a very good price for a 4* hotel. Clearly 4* means a lot of difference across the boarder!
Shocking!!!! The room resembled a squat! There wasn't twin beds, it was the worlds smallest double.
Although after serving in Bosina and Iraq I can pretty much stay anywhere, so I came to terms with the state of the room.
So roll on coming home.... 15 mins ringing the buzzer constantly and someone opens the door, 15 mins!! It was raining and freezing.
Would I stay again, doubtful.
I'll be positive, stag or hen do location- yeah! That's about it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lockettx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Glasgow

Property: Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Address: 40 George Square, Glasgow G2 1DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Millennium Hotel
Millenium Hotel Glasgow
Millennium Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing