We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Adequate - Like Every Other Ibis You've Ever Stayed In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfectly Adequate - Like Every Other Ibis You've Ever Stayed In”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Ibis chain is one of the most generic in the world. Every single location is identical inside, and you know exactly what you're going to get. The Ibis in Glasgow is no exception.

The location is very close to Sauchiehall Street. It's about 10-15mins walk from Central Station, Queen Street Station and Buchanan Bus Station. Charing Cross Station is closer.

The room was not massive, but big enough for the two of us. The bathroom had a spacious shower, no bath.

The bed was comfortable. We had a flat screen TV in the room, and there were tea/coffee making facilities.

At very busy times you may have to wait a while for the small lifts, as they cannot accomodate very many people with luggage, and have to serve 6 floors.

Ibis hotels are basic, but inexpensive. This one is perfect for exploring Glasgow on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for sharing your views of the hotels, I am sure other travellers will find this useful. We are always impoving so I do hope you stay with us again and see the improvements.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    697
    324
    79
    58
See reviews for
154
604
176
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Good clean rooms ,maybe a bit basic but all you need for a weekend stay.Helpfull staff and in a great location as in the city but away from the noise late at night .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Sir

So glad you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow.

I do hope to welcom you again in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I stay in this hotel quite a bit.. (3 or 4 times a year) and I have to say it is a really good choice. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. (The last time I went I arrived at the hotel @ 11am and the receptionist called up to the housekeeping staff to find out which room was clean and available for me.) The location of the hotel is perfect. You are close to the bustle of Sauchiehall St (literally around the corner) and the shops are a short stroll away. Value is really good and the rooms are quite spacious for the price. (I have stayed in hotels where we paid more for the room and had a very very small room) The food in the bar is great, as is the drink!!! the services in the room are great too..the broadband package and movie package are great when you just want to chill out after a long day shopping! I would recommend the hotel to anyone, in fact my mother is away over to it next weekend on my recommendation!!! Top marks for a budget hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinGirl353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Dublin Girl

It's great you stay here so often , we are very pleased to welcome you again next time.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The loctaion of this hotel was excellent. Big rooms, great breakfast only problem is no parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I booked in for an overnight stay. Receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful, calling taxis when I required one. The room was large and clean. The windows closed tightly shutting out any noise but it was quiet on the sixth floor anyway. Lifts were smooth and quite. Had a very restfull sleep. Although it wasn't handy for where I had to go it was a fairly short taxi journey and it was great for a late room booking. I can't fault it in any way and I would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending it to all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motheroftheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Just stayed at the Ibis Hotel, West Regent St, Glasgow. What a fab hotel, the staff couldn't be more helpful and pleasant, the hotel is smart, clean and welcoming. The continental breakfast made a lovely change from the usual stodgy and greasy cooked breakfast and the fact that you can have breakfast until 12 noon is great, no more having to dash out of bed just to get to breakfast in time!

I would definately reccommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank YvonneDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Scotland cities are nice to know by walking on them. The Ibis hotel in Glasgow takes this issue very seriously. Surely you may have a cab, but if you like walking you'll have some. The hotel is 5 minutes walking from the major shopping street and 10 minutes walking to the city center. It is a nice and easy walk, although. Very good hotel, clean, quiet, confortable, gentle personnel ... Ibis style.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcioB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing