We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CAN'T GET A GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“CAN'T GET A GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for the Kings Theatre, restaurants and the city centre. Parking is a problem, but between 6pm and 8am on-street parking outside the hotel is free (other times its £3 an hour so look for cheaper parking at other times). Reception registration is quick. The rooms are cosy (small) but perfectly formed - large comfy bed and all the facilities of a mid-range hotel. The bathroom is unusual in that it is a small pod based room, but with a large, excellent shower. Why is it that some hotels have mirrors but no nearby electric plugs for the hairdryer! This hotel is very good, but with one huge drawback that makes for a poor nights sleep - BOY RACERS. The rooms facing the road had noisy cars revving up between 10.00pm and 1am; this hotel is next to the police station. When confronting the hotel staff next morning apologies were given and we were advised that the police were aware of the problem but that 'the car drivers were only congregating in the area and revving their engines'. During the night of our visit their was also screaching of tyres and what sounded like a driver practicing 'doughnuts' without an exhaust! The 15 minute guarantee that the hotel gives is only for problems within their control - not outside noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road, although I would think that these may also be noisy cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Tony H

Thank you for adding your comments about your stay. I am sorry you were disturbed by the noise outside which we are liaising with the police to try and resolve as are the other four and five star hotels in the area. We do hope to have a permanent solution very soon but appreicate the tips for other potential users.

I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    689
    320
    78
    57
See reviews for
153
596
173
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

First stay (1 night) ok second stay - 2 nights- window looked out onto a brick wall - you get what you pay for!

Prime spot for Kings Theatre - managed to get tickets for Let It Be - and shops, cafes, etc easy walking distance. Bit of a trek into 'town'

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitings20262730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear whitings20262730

Thank you for taking the time to add your review about the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel really is great value for money. The only thing budget about it is the price. I emailed the hotel prior to my stay requesting a quiet room on a high floor to the back as I had read about the noise made by cars racing on the road out front and wanted to make sure I avoided it. My email was answered promptly and my request was granted.

I had room 612 and I was more than happy with it. The rooms are compact but well equipt. The bed is really comfortable and the shower is really powerful.

I didn't want my room cleaned one day so I left the do not disturb sign on the door handle and when I came back there was a bag of fresh towels hanging there for me. I thought this was a really nice touch, one many of the more expensive chains could take note of.

The only thing I had an issue with was the heat in the room. The unit on the wall is not an air conditioning unit, it's a climate control unit so it really only works in extremes. As the actual temperature outside was borderline this unit was no good to me and I had to open the window. Unfortunately the window only opens an inch or two for security reasons so it took ages to cool the room enough for me to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marb3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Marb3006

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am happy that we were able to accommodate your request and do hope this will be the first of many trips.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. A good variety of food and drink was available for breakfast. Ideally located for exploring the city and very close to the main shopping areas. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Sam4588

Than you for adding your review of the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will take advantage of one of our other Ibis family hotels in the UK soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We returned to this hotel a second time (having booked in and left immediately a grotty establishment in the West End) and were relieved to find again the simple yet reliable quality of Ibis. Rooms are pretty straightforward - clean, tastefully furnished with a comfortable bed and adequate en suite with shower. Basic tea and coffee facilities are provided, there's plenty of storage space and extra pillows are in the room if required.

Breakfast comprises a hot buffet plus continental selection with good coffee and juices served in the downstairs bar area. The location is a short walk from the city centre and there is lots of on road parking which is free after 6pm and on Sundays.

The only minor gripe is that the road at the front of the hotel seems to be a bit of an unofficial race track, despite being opposite the Police station. It didn't bother us but might be too noisy for some.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear PaulJNottingham

Thank you for your review of our htoel , I do hope we can look forward tow elcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#45 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing