We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value at great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value at great location”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

If what you are looking for is a clean room, great shower and a central location - this is nearly perfect. High quality no frills accomodation. Walk to all the main attractions in the city centre. We booked online and prepaid to get a very good rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC1V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your review, we do hope that you will enjoy your future stayas with us as well.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    705
    328
    79
    60
See reviews for
155
614
177
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Because we had to book our hotel less than a week before staying the decent hotels (premier inn, novotel etc.) had been booked up on the saver rates, this left this hotel at £60 a night a very attractive option, especially with free wi-fi, which works very well.
The reception area is clean and functional, and very welcoming with friendly reception staff, check in was easy and was hassle free.
The room was small and pokey even by ibis' standard, and it looks like we were given a disabled room so the bathroom was made smaller with all the disabled equipment.
Hot drink making facilities consisted of two tea bags (no coffee) 4 sticks of sugar and 2 milks which was really poor.

Would stay again if I had to but wouldn't book here instantly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Jordan

Thank you for taking the time to add your review onto the website, I am sorry we would not be your first choice as your feedback will certainly help us to improve for the future.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel Ibis Glasgow - good location, no fancy, but budget accomodation. As usual we have been booking Ibis beeing anywhere just for one night, as this was a "safe" choice - standard throughout the world so one could be sure what to expect in terms of quality and service. This time we have been staying for one night, having our flight following evening. We wanted to leave our luggage in the hotel for 5 hours after check-out. We have been informed that we'd be additionally charged for each pcs of luggage. No info about that on Ibis/Accor web pages or anywhere else. It's a shame Ibis is charging for the service which traditionally is free in any hotel, was always free in all Acoor hotels and free even in the cheap backpackers hostels. They are not stating on the invoice that the charge is for "luggage storage", but "Shop VATable". So they are even ashamed themselves to state it clearly. They better increase room price than charge for something which traditionally is a free service to the guests.
We have seen new Ibis advert : "Ibis changing for better ..." - above is the evidence of a lie! What's next? Charging for towels? For toilet paper? Thank you, Ibis management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank pepe1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Pepe

Thank you for adding your review to our site, I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy about the charge for levaing your luggage at the hotel after checkout. This is a new charge introduced on the 1st August this year, at £3 this is 66% chepaer than luggage storage at the bus or train stations. We do not charge for luggage left before check in only after you have checked out of your room. We keep our room rate as competitive as possible by not having hidden charges within the rate.

We now offer free wifi throughout every hotel in the UK which is a service customers did used to pay for.

Thank you for your comments and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good hotel in a city of expensive hotels and boarding.
We stayed just for one night, but would have no hesitation to stay again. The bathroom 'pods' were excellent plenty of pressure and hot water in the showers.
Average sized room for the city centre, with all the usual amenities, very good dining available just a street away.
Beds were adequate, if you find the pillow too robust, I was told by reception that they have others available, just call down to reception and they will send some up (wish I'd know that at midnight)!
Parking is possible, they have a deal with an NCP a few blocks away, and they also have parking on the street outside - however, there is a two hour maximum stay limit, and this is in operation between the hours of 08:00 - 18:00hrs. Buy a ticket from the machine the night before as the wardens are up with the lark and ready to pounce! Parking is not cheap either being £3.00 an hour outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldberryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Goldberryt

Thank you for your review, I am sure other potential guests will find this informative and helpful for their stays.

I do hope we can look after you again in the future as this was all our pleasure.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 95 in Glasgow
1,554 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#11 of 95 in Glasgow
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing