We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Good value for money considering we booked 2 nights before our stay. Very basic, but clean, safe & comfortable with a great city centre location. Gentleman at front desk extreamly friendly & helpful. Only downside was parking. We parked in multi-level parking until 4pm then used pay & display (60p per 15min) street parking until 6pm when it was free until 8am the following day. Surprisingly quiet considering location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac_smith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ibis Glasgow and adding a review about our hotel. Our city centre location has many benefits and the free street parking after 6pm is great value. I do hope we will see you staying with us again soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Glasgow City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

After a long drive we arrived at the Glasgow Ibis hotel. First impressions were good, the hotel looked clean enough and the reception staff were very helpful and efficient. We asked about parking and the receptionist informed us that our car 'should be okay outside as there was a police station across the road'. This made me laugh and I soon remembered which city I was in and that we had taken the full insurance option for the hire car.

We went to the room and decided to pay for the £10 deal to access the hotel's internet and complete some work. With this deal you are entitled to an ethernet connection and full access to the on demand movie service. After unpacking everything we turned the TV on only to discover that the screen was broken and not displaying properly. We went to reception to inform them and they decided to move us to another room. We were given keys to the second room and returned to the original room to repack our belongings. Upon arrival at the second room we thought we would be smart and check the internet connection via the TV BEFORE unpacking everything. The TV came on with no problem and we activated the service before unpacking yet again. The internet connection was incredibly slow, so slow in fact I was having flashbacks to the days of dial up connections and modems!

After giving up on the internet we decided to watch a movie via the on demand service. After selecting our movie it was soon apparent that the slow connection not only effected the internet but also the movies! The movie would stall and in some cases skip 5 minutes ahead which was incredibly frustrating. We phoned reception to inform them and they suggested that we try a different movie to see if there is any improvement. Of course, there wasn't and we ended up watching a film that should have been 1.5 hours in 2 hours time.

We then decided to go down to the hotel's restaurant for a meal as they had some pretty impressive specials displayed on a board in reception. We went to the restaurant and sat at a table for quite while with not a soul around to take our order. In all fairness, one very nice Australian lady was not only in charge of reception but also for the bar and restaurant! When our order was finally taken we were informed that they did not have the meals we wanted. We asked why they were advertising the specials in reception if they did not exist but did not receive a clear answer. It then became clear that the lady in the kitchen was training and did not know where to find the beef in the fridge. Our meals finally arrived and the disappointment soon sank in. The fish looked as if it had been taken out of an Iceland packet and cremated in an oven and the burgers were even worse. Do yourself a favour and DO NOT eat at this hotel as your money will be better spent at one of the many restaurants around the corner.

On the bright side, our car was still there in the morning and we only had to step over a homeless man to access our boot to load the luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that you had some disappointments during your stay with us. We can always learn from every experience of our guests.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to wlcome you back so we can offer you a hassle free stay.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in hotel for a one night....the rooms was of reasonable size and its very clean...the bathrooms were very clean and the shower works gud..The staffs were very friendly and the check in formalities were so fast..But the disadv is the breakfast menu is not upto......and more thing AC was not working .. the most important disadv is the bed is not comfy..ohh we were getting back pains because of this bed..

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Vaissathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel, I am sorry that not every part of your stay met with your expectations. I hope we can do better next time. We have just finished installing brand new beds in 75% of our bedrooms so perhaps these would suit you better.

Please do not hesitate to get in tuoch if I can be of further assistance.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Good location, cheap and cheerful. Great service from staff re: check in, storing luggage etc. Cleanliness could have been a bit better and more towels in the bathroom would have been nice but overall we had a great stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to post on the site in regards your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us and I do hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

As a fairly regular guest at this hotel i'm always amazed how nice the hotel is and how friendly and professional the staff are. I stayed overnight on 11 August and after a fairly stressful day I arrived at reception and although I had arrived just after a large group of students I was booked in very quickly which was very much appreciated. One question. Is Eliza always on duty at this hotel, she seems to be permanent but most welcome fixture in the hotel with her charming and friendly manner. The room, as usual was spotless and my wife and I had a very comfortable nights stay. A budget hotel with 5 star service once again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on the hotel, you are always very welcome. All the team work five shifts over seven days so you will see the same faces.

I look forward to welcoming you and your wife again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Used the hotel for a one night stop in Glasgow. First time we have used an Ibis hotel and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this budget hotel.

Check in was fast and efficient, by pleasant staff,who offered a choice of twin or double room.
Room was reasonable size, clean and comfortable, with a large double bed. Bathroom "pod" was small but adequate, with a great shower in a large shower cabinet.

The hotel is located a 15 minute stroll from the City Centre and only 2 minutes from Sauchiehall St. where there is range of eateries to suit all budgets.

All in all, a good experience and good value for the price paid. Would happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to use Ibis hotels again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here again on 31 July for one night only. Booked two rooms they were both nice and clean, comfy beds, quick check in/out.

Great value for £40. Nice and close to the city centre. Parked the car at the NCP round the corner for only £7 too!

Would definately stay again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,150 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
579 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $56 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing