We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christmas Dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room - CLOSED

Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Burgers, Cocktails and Choccy Woccy Do Dahs
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went here with some friends a few nights ago to try out the Kmas Menu.

We had a great night, the food was really nice, and as always, a good atmosphere. I had the chipolata skewers to start, and then the salmon burger. I finished it off with the Christmas Pudding Sundae which was lovely. The milkshakes are always amazing, I opted for a mint aero one this time and it was great.

Will definitely be back to Ketchup in the new year!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamC_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchup S, Manager at Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to review our K-Mas menu!
We loved having a little Ketchup twist on Christmas dinner and the Chipolata skewers were our favourite!

If you fancy inventing your own milkshake next time then let us know and we'll throw it in on us!
As always...it's best to keep an eye on our social media for great New Year offers!

Love K x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Best burgers in the Southside! And 2-4-1! Cannot be beaten! Service with a smile is guaranteed just as much as the quality of the food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchup S, Manager at Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much Dave for giving us such awesome feedback!
We are in total agreement with all the points you have made. We put so much care and effort into making sure everyone receives fantastic burgers and great service every visit.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Love K x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good first time & will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We got a couples deal for £29.95: sharing starter, 2 mains, a side & sharing dessert.
When we arrived it was dead! We were the only people there. It was a bit difficult to find as no sat nav could pick up the postcode but we got there in the end! There was free parking just opposite which was good :)

When we got in we were greeted by staff straight away who was up eat & very pleasant.
We were seated at a booth. These weren't comfortable at all. Not a lot of room from chair to table, very straight backs with hardly any padding. So we moved to a 2 seated which was much better. Looking round from what I could see it didn't look very wheelchair friendly. Definitely something that should be looked at.

The food was great! All really fresh, warm & tasty! The only we had the bit of everything starter. Arriba arriba burger & fudge cake to share. The only thing I would say is the tomoatoe made the bottom of the bun soggy, maybe sitting on it for a bit?! Apart from that I have nothing but good things to say about the food!

I don't know if it was due to the place being empty but there was no atmosphere to the place.

The music was a bit loud & crap. Personal taste...

It looked really clean & bright, which you can see from the pictures.

The service we received was to a good level. I couldn't tell you the girls name. No introduction or name badge. Definitely should look at that.

Overall it was a good first time & a good deal as well, definitely value for the money spent. If you e not been before I recommend trying this one for sure. The best burger I've had. Yummmm!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchup S, Manager at Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your dining experience with us, we are very pleased to have your feedback.
Our couples deal is super as it allows you both to sample all Ketchup's delights from starters to dessert, plus wine is included too! We are very happy that you only have praise for our food, our chefs work to high standards to maintain great quality every meal!
We try out best to accommodate everyone with a mixture of booths and high stools giving a real American style diner feel and we have have plenty of area in the Social next door for people who would prefer to lounge out on our sofas gather all on one table at our large booths. Our whole venue is accessible by anyone too; we have easy access toilets and ramps.
We love that one of our Ketchup burgers is the best burger you have had, we totally agree!

Love K x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“family meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great place for burgers, wide variety.
Milkshakes again superb.
Booked a table online. worked fine.
Slightly slow service and restaurant was only half full.
£140 for 8 including drinks and 3 puddings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doccrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchup S, Manager at Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are very happy that you took the time to give us your awesome feedback! We have a massive selection of tasty burgers to suit everyone and a wide range of milkshakes too! We can also work our magic creating different flavours if there is something different that you fancy!
Booking online is a great way way to ensure you have a table waiting for you when you arrive....you should check out our website ketchupsouth.co.uk for great group deals including our "Birthday offer" which is 6 burgers and 6 sides for £50.

Love K x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrive at ketchup after booking through my phone on 5pm.com as we were out for the day in Livingston. We had been once before a long while ago and enjoy it. We managed to get a 50% off which was great for a Saturday evening!

Food was great and staff were attentive. They were also good with my son (3 year old) brought crayons. They also have a hamper of toys for them to play with. We had a sharing platter for starters and burgers for mains. My son had the fish and chips which he enjoyed. I would say its much better than the handmade burger co. Really worth going to!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazzachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchup S, Manager at Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are super happy that you took the time to give us your feedback! Ketchup Kids are VIPs in our eyes so we make sure they enjoy themselves as much as everyone else. 'Cause we have a wide range on our menu it suits the whole family so we're glad that your son opted for our tiddlers' fish & chips. Keep an eye on our social media sites for better offers, we treat our official fans well.

Love, K x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ketchup at The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing