We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Room 15.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Apartments
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid Room 15.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and had previously stayed at these apartments and had nothing but praise for the accommodation but this changed when we returned for a 2nd visit 2 weeks ago. We were allocated Room 15 and initial impression was good. However that changed within a very short time. The bed mattress was extremely hard and my weight (20 Stone) made no impression on it !. Only 1 bed side light. The sofa had no support so our thighs rested on the wooden cross member. The TV was an old CRT which worked but had a dark picture and having a screen size of about 20" was too small for the room. There was a dining table and chairs of a wrought iron design. The chairs were very uncomfortable being straight upright with a small pad on the centre of your back which forced your chest out. There was no lingering over dinner there !.
A smaller point was the extremely short lead on the hair drier which wouldn't reach up to the mirror making it impossible for my wife to dry.style her hair as normal. And finally the refrigerator provided was so loud we had to use ear plugs. AVOID !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. We appreciate all feedback as this helps to improve customer service and ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay.Our office staff are here until 5pm Mon - Fri and our caretakers are in the building 24hrs therefore had we been notified of any issues with the apartment at the time we could have resolved them there and then.

All of our apartments are very different and i am sure we would have been able to find you a suitable alternative.

We were sorry you did not enjoy your stay however we hope to see you return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    37
    11
    13
    12
See reviews for
35
54
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent four days in Glasgow having been on a tour of Scotland. This is a very relaxing solution to continually having to pack up and move on plus fit in with specific breakfast times. In the right area for access to the busy West End scene and it was great to visit our old stamping ground of the University. Comfortable rooms with very high ceilings and space a plenty. Small perfectly adequate kitchen and we ate in one evening having been to the aforementioned M & S Simply Food around the corner. (Well, a couple of corners and a main road, actually.) Time to replace the old CRT Television + Freeview box, however. Visit Byres Road, go downmarket a little and do try the University Café towards the Dumbarton Road end - run by the same family for 40 plus years. Real, old fashioned freshly cooked breakfasts to die for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonspa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Bookings & Reception at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com. We always encourage customer feedback as part of our exemplary service provision and we are delighted that your stay was a positive experience. We are pleased to add that we have upgraded our TV's as well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business and the accommodation was booked on my behalf. If I was coming to Glasgow, this wouldn't be my first choice. If you don't have a car then there really isn't anywhere to go and eat, the best thing is to go the simply M&S food outlet at the petrol station around the corner!
I was in room 15 which was ok, nothing special. However, if you do stay in this room bring some industrial sized earplugs. The room above has by far the noisiest floorboards I have ever heard. Not helped by the person staying there deciding at 12:15am that they wanted to pace up and down continually for 2 1/2 hours. The noise from the floorboards woke me up and as the noise was constant - something really needs to be done about this.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bevoirbelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are located in the heart of the West End of Glasgow with Byres Rd and Hyndland being only 10 minutes walk away with restaurants and food outlets. We also have guest information books in all apartments where you will find further information about Glasgow and places to eat, we do have staff within the building 24hrs that would be more than willing to help with any issues you may have including moving you to another apartment should you have issues with the apartment you are in i.e. creaking floorboards.

We hope to see you return to The White House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Fantastic location, Amazing staff - great facilities. Apt 22 this time. thank you Margaret & team. We always stay at white house if they have space. They put our online shopping in the fridge for us! nothing is too much trouble. we feel safe and comfortable.Makes us nostalgic for our west end roots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.

I will pass your comments onto Margaret and the rest of the team.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you back at The White House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose The White House to be close to a wedding venue we were attending. We are originally from Glasgow, so know the area, and location, transport etc. was ideal.
On entering our apartment ( No. 2 ) , we thought we had entered an antique shop, or lounge from about early 1970's. the bath only had a hand held shower.....shades of past Greek holidays.
On a positive note, bed comfortable, everything clean and staff helpful.
In short, okay for the money but very, very out of date.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

As you can see from previous responses we appreciate all feedback good or bad.
The apartment that you were booked into is a very traditional apartment and isn’t to everyone’s taste however some of our guests request this apartment upon booking.
Our office staff are in the building till 5pm and we have a caretaker here throughout the night if you had of mentioned at the time this apartment was not to your taste we would have moved you to another apartment.

We hope to welcome you back very soon for a true White House experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for five nights earlier this month. The White House is well situated, in a quiet area in the West End of Glasgow, where street parking is easy. It is near bus routes, although it is a 17-minute walk to Hyndland and Anniesland railway stations.

The rooms are spacious, considerably larger than one would find in a hotel at a similar price, and there is a fully-equipped kitchen, and of course en-suite bathroom facilities. The double bed was just a bit on the narrow side.

The White House is self-catering, which we did not find a problem. The facilities do not include room service, however. On the one hand, this is an advantage in that one is not disturbed, but on the other hand it meant that towels were not changed, and waste baskets not emptied. We understand that rooms can be cleaned for guests, but add an additional charge.

One or two small items in the flat were not functioning – the strip light above the washbasin, and one of the power sockets (although there were ample power points at various places in the room).

On the whole, we liked the venue and the room, and would certainly consider returning to the White House on a future occasion. However, we thought it was just a little bit pricey, compared with what one would pay at our hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, check the width of the bed, or ask for twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelagius_Redivivus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, General Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We do have Maintenance throughout the buliding for issues such as the light strip and power socket.

We hope to welcome you back to The White House very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I really liked it here. I thought the rooms were slightly dated, as others have said...however in their defence, I think this is the style that they're going for. I'm more if a modern hotel kind of person, so any faults I could mention would only really be because my taste is different. My wife loved everything about this place!

The location is pretty good. We didn't have a car and just used the busses and trains which are only a short walk away and are frequent.

The building it's self is rather impressive a the staff couldn't be more helpful.

We were in Glasgow looking to buy a property and the hotel let us use the hotel address as a postal address which helped us a great deal.

I highly recommend this hotel as long as you don't mind a slightly more "classical" look :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisionthingNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you taking the time to post your review.

We hope to see you and your wife return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#26 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Apartments

Property: The White House Apartments
Address: 11-13 Cleveden Crescent, Glasgow G12 0PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a classic Victorian Crescent in Glasgow’s fashionable West End, the long established White House Apartments are superbly located for long or short-term stays in the city. A warm & friendly Scottish welcome will make you feel at home. With competitive rates and only ten minutes from Glasgow City Centre with free on street parking. Each unique and charming apartment, with fully equipped kitchen and bathroom, has been tastefully furnished with your home comforts and requirements in mind. Available in a variety of styles, from Single Studios to Mews Cottages to Three Bedroom Apartments, we specialise in exclusive, yet affordable, quality self catering accommodation. Our properties have been independently graded by Visit Scotland and we guarantee a clean, fresh and relaxing environment with friendly staff on hand at all times to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We have 32 apartments located in Cleveden Crescent and various other accommodation in Glasgow located throughout the West End. Our portfolio also has various rental opportunities for 6 months or more. We look forward to welcoming you to share the unique experience of The White House Apartments for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Apartments Hotel Glasgow
The White House Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing