We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Barras Weekend Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.67*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #237 of 279 things to do in Glasgow
Attraction details
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Do go here, preferably after a walk through Glasgow Green and a visit to the museum at the People Palace, you get a great insight into daily life. The market sells much as previously described, we enjoy having a snoop about and a cuppa. Follow this with a visit to a pub or 2 in Gallowgate where the friendly locals will welcome you and then a trip to Glasgows oldest chippy also on Gallowgate where you can have pretty much anything you want deep fried. A nice change and a chance to meet some lovey people, we spoke to more here than in our entire stay in Edinburgh earlier in the week

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank carol and mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    23
    23
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Barras is finished”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I dont know how this place is still going , it is a licence to sell fake goods/ tobaco. Is a real shame as the barras has a lot of history and tradition.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A sociology lesson to us all!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

See how the other half shop...stall selling rusty bikes, ripped -dvds with adult themes and a load of tat...some cake stalls mind you! I have no idea why this place exists...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank drdanielmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“If you like junk, and who does'nt”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

As an avid junk collector and flea market junkie I was delighted to see a real junk market. I'm talking clean out the dead lady's house kind of junk. The market itself is in disrepair and has seen a better day or decade for that matter. With that aside there are some real gems to be found here. There are the usual sellers of knock off clothes and the such but the real stuff is the yard sale, house clean out kind of treasures. They even have an anarchy store, very cool...



Liam & Colleen
New York

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fglawihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolute rubbish”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I don't know what's so special about the market. It has no local flavour. Shops there fall into a few categories: selling old electric goods, old cutlery, pirated DVDs/games, fake branded clothing (for ripoff prices) and probably a few more types but I'd really not like to relive the experience.

A few snack bars here and there, most of them look really dodgy.

Don't go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank FireRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barras Weekend Market also viewed

 

Been to Barras Weekend Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing