We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
lancaster, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall great stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights to see Elton John (which was fantastic!) The hotel room was nice, great view of the river. Everything was set out great.

We went to the hotel restaurant on the first night for an evening meal, which was completely gorgeeous. Room service was good.

The only thing that let it down was the river festival. The hotel simply couldn't cope. We thought we would go to the restaurant on the last day for lunch because it was so good. What a different experience that time. The service was so slow because they were cooking chips to sell outside. We ordered 2 coffees and waited 20 minutes. I cancelled them in the end.

Overall good if there is nothing on in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    962
    313
    103
    40
See reviews for
270
1,063
134
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks.
It´s well located opossite to the Comference and Exhibition center in Glasgow and 5mins away to city center.
Taxi from Airport takes aprox 15mins and costs 17GBP.
Its ideal for Business and leisure trips.
Rooms are compact but very modern and comfortable.
TV,DVD player,CD and radio and Broadband connection.
The restaurant is superb,excellent food and service.
Offer a good Scottish selection of dishes with great wine menu.
All rooms have river views.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — not enough storage for long stays
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lourdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
535 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Good business person's hotel...or tourist hotel if you need a night or two in Glasgow. Close to city center and easy to get taxi to airport

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Whilst attending a concert at the SECC myself and 4 friends stayed at the City Inn.

The rooms were a good size extremely clean and modern , beds were really confortable and the views over the Clyde were fantastic.Samall bathroom but more than adaquet for our stay.

Breakfast was included and there was a good selection to choose from.

Only 1 thing let the hotel down which was their resteraunt , if you want to use it make sure you make a reservation either before or on arrival to ensure you get a table.

For £69 per room per night this was fantastic value , i normally stay at the Crowne Plaza but will be returning to the City Inn for any of my future visits to Glasgow.

  • Liked — Great value for money , bright and airy modern rooms and fantastic views
  • Disliked — should be more resteraunt space
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelgirl030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Ok, let's start with the good...

We were there for a concert at the SECC so location was great and the free parking on site is a bonus. Lovely room overlooking the river, spotlessly clean and well equipped with cd, dvd etc and a lovely, comfortable big bed. Had room service for our evening meal as it was so busy downstairs with pre-concert diners and was pleasantly surprised with the speed of delivery and quality of the food. Check in was quick and efficient but the lack of warmth was an indicator of what was to come.

Now for the bad...

There was absolutely no info about room and hotel facilities. Where was the cd/dvd library, what did it contain, what channels were available on the tv to save you having to scroll through every button to find out, when were the restaurant opening times, what menus were available, etc... You get to the point where you're fed up phoning for info or going downstairs to find the answers!!!

Only one set of towels and bathrobe for a booking made for two but as we always carry our own they weren't troubled for the missing set.

The worst experience was breakfast, the service was dreadful! We went down early-ish at 8:30 as we expected it to be busy and had been told 9:30 was the peak time. Well glad we didn't go then as it was bad enough half-full! We were rushed to a table behind a waiter we couldn't keep up with and squeezed in beside another couple within elbow touching distance. Very noisy despite half the tables not being occupied made for difficult conversation. The waiter then stood over us with such obvious impatience as we chose our hot food selection that it was extremely off-putting - you could sense his desire to tap his pencil on his notepad! Cold buffet was a reasonable selection but I felt sorry for the guy on the next table who was only half way through his muesli when his cooked breakfast turned up and his bowl was promptly removed with his spoon still in his hand.

The breakfast itself was poor fayre - we had far better the previous day at the motorway service staion on the M74!!! And that went for the service as well. The waiters were as cold as the fruit juice, unfriendly, unhelpful and uncooperative - they couldn't get you out of the door quick enough.

At check-out I waited to be asked if we had a nice stay/any problems etc but that courtesy was not forthcoming. Their main concern was what you had used from the mini bar.

Overall what could have been a good stay was badly let down by poor customer service. It doesn't matter how many nice, whizzy gadgets you have in a room, it's the poor service that we will always remember and what will stop us returning. There is a lot of competition in Glasgow city centre, I've stayed in many of them on business and City Inn is bottom of my list.

The previous night we stayed at the excellent Premier Travel Inn at Annandale Water - basic facilities of course but superb service and City Inn could learn a lot from them.

  • Liked — The room facilities
  • Disliked — The poor customer service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SkyeNoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Good stay at this City Inn, simple, straightforward and great value for money. Good position and helpful staff who looked after my various strange requests including help with the problem with my car.

Would recommend to anyone on business who doesn't want frills but does want value for money.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank blueberryjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

I stayed in the City Inn for 5 nights on business in early April 2007, and was impressed. The room was clean, a decent size, and nicely furnished. I spent a good deal of time in the room as I was on my own on business, and was very pleased to find I had a DVD player, CD player, and satellite TV at my disposal. The hotel's main trade comes from the SECC Conference Centre so I think they recognise there may be some bored people staying in their rooms.

The bed was comfortable and I liked the white decor. I was lucky to get a room with a Clydeside view also. The bathroom wasn't quite so good, it was a bit small and the shower wasn't the best (low pressure on the water).

The service was good all round I thought, and the breakfast was nice and efficient, bit expensive though if you don't have it included.

I should stress that this hotel was excellent because I was attending a conference at the SECC. It wouldn't be so great for a holiday in Glasgow, as it is two stops out on the train. It's not too bad to take the train, they come every ten minutes and it's only £1.10 return to the central station, but you have to cross a big road via a slightly dodgy tunnel and I'm not sure you'd want to after it gets dark.

All in all, I strongly recommend the City Inn for anyone attending a conference at SECC

  • Liked — free internet access, dvd player in rooms
  • Disliked — bathroom was a bit small
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing