We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room facilities, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Room facilities, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed for a two night trip, as my preferred hotel was fully booked. The hotel is situated right next to the SECC, and is right by the Clyde and the squinty bridge. Its about 10 years old.

Check in was fine, if a little quick although the receptionist seemed a little bothered that i was trying to check in literally throwing my credit card down after pre-authorising it. I was on the 5th floor with a view of the YEN restaurant and the empty land plots (the entire area was undergoing a refurbishment but the credit crunch has put that on hold).

The rooms are a little on the small side, but well equipped with a good amount of storage space. Every room is equipped with a Mac, which acts as a TV and computer. There is also free Wifi through out the hotel, but i found it unreliable and quite slow. Channel wise there are most of the Freeview channels, although i could not get channel 5 to work. There is a DVD library at reception as well.Rooms are air conditioned and the beds are comfortable.

Bathroom wise theres only a shower, no bath. But they are clean and well lit with a glass door for the shower.

I ate in both nights, and in hindsight i should have tried out Yen and the indian restaurant right next door. The food at the hotel is good, but again the customer service in the restaurant was poor. Breakfast is a continental or full english which they cook for you to order, which is really good - except when they get your order wrong as they did on the second morning.

I had room service on the second night, and they managed to get the order totally wrong.

Checking out was quick and straight forward. Its a quiet area simply because of the lack of social life in the immediate vicinity. the area could be a thriving riverside, but the lack of other amenities etc.. stops that.

Would i got back? Not as a first choice alternative.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Permian05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    947
    310
    103
    38
See reviews for
261
1,053
133
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Bit confused by our stay at City Inn. Staff were excellent, so welcoming and genuinely helpful. Lovely reception area, bright and modern, leading out onto a terrace overlooking the river. There's a lot of development in this area. We were visiting family in Argyle Street, which was a ten minute walk away. Room was small but quite adequate for one night. Bed was very comfortable. Nice touches like bathrobes, gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom, and an Apple entertainment system for TV, internet access etc. But then there were little things that just took the shine off things a bit - nasty burn mark on the sideboard, only one set of towels provided (but got a second set no problem as soon as we asked), one of the scatter cusions on the bed was very grubby, stain on bed sheet. Nothing hugely wrong, but little details like that let down an otherwise very well thought out hotel. Good value for money, but probably would pick somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Stayed at the city Inn on 3rd July for two nights. Hotel was GREAT. Easily found just 500 metres from the M8. Hotel is located overlooking the River Clyde and 50m from the SECC. Our room was very well laid out with ample space and was beautifuly furnished. Room has an Apple television that has access to the internet (completely free). We used the restaurant for breakfast and found the food very nice. At breakfast time the restaurant was found to be extremely busy with not enough staff on hand at times, this was the only negative I have to say about the City Inn. Overall a fantastic hotel, will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed here for the weekend for the Boyzone Concerts in the SECC.Absolutley fantastic! Room was immaculate as well as the bathroom.2 mins walk from the SECC.Under £5 for a taxi into town.Great breakfasts.Didnt have dinner as we went out for it.Would liked to have tried it tho.Free internet in the room-bonus!!They offered us passes to Greens fitness club,we didnt use tho as we had other things planned. Even got an iron and ironing board which was really handy! To top it all off we got all this for £59 per night.Planning on going back next year-if Boyzone tour that is :-D

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debzy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Great stay at City Inn Glasgow with my mate. Very clean and nicely decorated hotel. Contempoary feel, quite stylish for a very good value hotel. 15 minute walk along the river to centre of town or about 5 mins in a taxi so very convenient indeed. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout our two night stay. We were late for breakfast on the second day and the staff could not have been more helpful and they basicaly arranged a special breakfast for us in the bar/cafe area. We tried to leave a tip for the staff for their special service but they would not accept this and they did all of this with a smile and good manners. Totally charming. Would certainly suggest this hotel to any of my friends going to stay over in Glasgow and would stay here again myself. Mant thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

After staying at the City Inn Westminster and being so impressed I thought I would book the City Inn Glasgow. The staff are warm and welcoming but I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. Stains on the carpet and curtains which is not good for a 4* Hotel especially the price I paid. (London was cheaper!) Facilities in room are to the same high standard. Breakfast first morning was a hit or a miss and after waiting some time I had to ask waiting staff to take my order. However they do have a good selection to choose from both continental and cooked. Dishwasher must need a good clean as some of the crockery is coming out dirtier than when it went in. Location is good for SECC. Didn't attempt the walk from town, didn't look pleasant but taxi cost about £5. Not sure I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Stayed in Glasgow a few times recently due to business and the City Inn is the only place I have been back to, again and again. The rooms are very comfortable, the in-room iMac entertainment with free internet is a very nice touch. The resteraunt serves excellent food both in the evenings and during breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docskeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing