We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart room and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The location of the hotel meant that I needed to get cabs to my meetings, but the surroundings were an added bonus as this had become a familiar view whilst watching the Commonwealth Games recently on TV. The hotel is very smart and fresh, which is carried on from the lobby to the room. I had an extremely comfortable night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear SaraD

Thank you for your review and scoring us 5/5.

We are indeed often used as the back-drop for television news due to our position between the iconic Finnieston Crane in our car park and the Clyde Arc (Squinty) bridge.

I am delighted that you had an extremely comfortable night.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Some way from the city centre, at least a 20 minute walk. Rooms a little on the small side but worthwhile paying extra for a riverside room. Excellent staff, especially those in reception who were most helpful. Good selection at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear TrevorB

Thank you for your review and for highlighting our helpful reception team – your kind comments mean a lot to our hard-working team.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We booked this hotel as it is 4 star and apparently in city centre. We found the staff to be brilliant, smiley and very helpful throughout.
However, whilst the hotel is very clean and comfortable, the rooms are very small ( we did get moved to a slightly bigger room, which was much appreciated). For us, it took about 20-25 minutes to walk ( lovely walk along the river) to George Square, not the 10 mins we were told it was from City centre.
The wifi was also very poor throughout and when I asked for help to improve the service, I was informed that they could provide ethernet cables for laptops, but nothing could be done to improve service to my ipad.
Whilst I have little to complain about in particular, there is also little that would make us return - apart from lovely staff.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank weemouse0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear weemouse0802

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations and that the Wifi was not to your satisfaction.

We were one of the first hotels in Glasgow to offer complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and recognise that increased demand for this service requires further investment - we expect our Wifi to be enhanced before the end of the year with the installation of new equipment allowing faster download speeds.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed here while on business during Commonwealth Games. It was the perfect base. Room was on the river side right beside the bridge. Small but perfectly clean with everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. Restaurant food was good and the service excellent. Perfect end to the working day was a drink on the terrace overlooking the river. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room. Colleagues on the road side had some noise from the pub across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishLady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear ScottishLady38

Thank you for such a positive review.

Our newly refurbished riverside terrace is a great location to unwind after a hard day at work!

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Visiting relatives and had free time, so we went by train to Glasgow. You walk out of train station catch the tour bus and it drops you off at stop 13 in front of the Garden Inn. Nice quiet area not far in 1/2 hour walking distance to downtown or as I did purchased two day pass on the tour bus. LOOK FOR THE SIGN which I attached.
Great breakfast served which is extra, but worth it. I am a Hilton Member and booked on-line in USA.Tip ask for room facing the river.
Do Not miss the Riverside Museum just down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matusla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Matusla

Thank you for your review and taking the time to upload some photos.

Our central location on the sightseeing bus network allows for easy access to both the shopping district and west-end areas of Glasgow.

I do agree that the Riverside Museum for transport is a must visit when staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel really doesn't seem budget at all - its beautiful inside and the room was very luxurious. Our hotel room looked out onto the Clyde and the Squinty Bridge.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful and gave us advice on how to get to the railway station, ordering a taxi for us which arrived faster than we could get downstairs for!
The room had an iMac which was very modern but the television reception wasn't as good as a normal television.
Overall, highly recommended - great for access to the SCC but a little far out from the city centre unless using a taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Have lost count the number of times stayed at this hotel.

Always stay here if we are coming down for a concert or football. Very good location. 2 min walk to SECC or Hydro, 20min walk to Ibrox and a 15min walk to The Quay. Prob about half hour walk into town or you can get a taxi.

Wide choice at the buffet breakfast. Decent selection at supper time too. There is a wee pantry that sells crisps, sweets, juice/alcohol, ice cream and ready meals if required.

Yes the rooms are more on the cramped side esp the showerroom but it has everything you need and how much time do you actually spend in your room anyways.

Will always return to this hotel when visiting Glasgow which is atleast 4 times a year.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenhuni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,452 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $83 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing