We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really disappointed with the food in the resturant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“really disappointed with the food in the resturant.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

this is our second time at this hotel. first time was last year. and we did not eat at the hotel we ate in yen across the street. wish we had done that this time. booking in was fine. the room was lovely. and the bed really comfy. and a really nice view of the clyde. we decided to give the restaurant a go. when we arrived the girl gave us a table in the middle of the floor. when I asked to be moved I got a dirty look. my husband had soup which he enjoyed but is still waiting for the bread he asked for.my starter was haggis and this was nice. my main course was pork. in my life I have never seen a plate like it it was suppose to be a platter of pork. it was three wee bits off different pork one was burnt one was the size of an oxo cube. and the other one was just fat.it had three half potatoes with it. I never ate it. when the girl came to get my plate she never even asked what was wrong.my advice to anyone staying at this hotel don't eat in the restaurant. eat in yen across street.the hotel is lovely and would stay again as it it very handy for venues.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel28703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear daniel28703

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in City Café.

The pork dish you have mentioned is not described on the menu as a platter, it is a trio of pork with braised cheek, confit belly and roast fillet. You should have been asked if you enjoyed your meal and I apologise this did not happen.

The majority of reviews compliment the staff and quality of food and it I would be grateful if you reconsider and try the restaurant again next time you stay.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,000
    328
    110
    44
See reviews for
289
1,116
138
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here last night with my fiancé & we had a lovely night! From checking in to checking out we had a fantastic experience. The room was very clean & well equipped. I especially liked the fridge in the room with the option to buy any required essentials from their Pantry like water, snacks or filled rolls to have at your leisure-I thought this was a great idea, almost a mini bar you control! We stayed in the hotel for dinner & so glad we did! We both had haggis to start, followed by steak for my fiancé & red bell pepper for me with cous cous finished off with their beautiful cheesecake!! Lorna was our main server at dinner & what a lovely, pleasant girl, she looked after us so well & nothing was too much trouble which created a lovely relaxed experience to go with the great food! At breakfast this morning Louise was our server & again, what a lovely girl! When we went to breakfast at 10am it was very busy but Louise must be commended for the way she looked after everyone & dealt with what could've been a challenging situation! The breakfast again was lovely, a great selection & all very fresh with a "make your own" waffle machine which was fab! All in all this was a great experience & this will be my first choice hotel next time I'm staying in Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Allisos

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

It is always good to hear of positive feedback and Lorna and Louise are very happy to be mentioned.

The pantry in the lobby is popular with our guests and your kind comments regarding your meal in City Café are very welcome.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend as we we going to hydro to see top gear live
Bedroom was lovely . Had a brilliant sleep pillows were fantastic .
Breakfast was excellent . Fresh waffles ...yummy will definitely recommend this hotel and certainly come back .
Thank you for a good nights stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shepherrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear shepherrd

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a great nights sleep.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal, lovely surroundings, a bit noisey but would definately visit again, staff was lovely and nothing was a bother, my partners soup was not as warm as he would have liked and it was changed without any bother, hope to visit again soon

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Margaret D

Thank you for your review and for stating you would definitely stay again.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for top gear live at the hydro with my teenage son.
Lovely clean twin room with great shower... Had dinner at the hotel which was very nice. Bit pricey at £20 for 2 courses but was very nice. Breakfast was great and my son loved the waffle maker. Bit of a trek into town so would probably stay more central for city visit, but this is ideal for the hydro arena.

Room Tip: If poss chose a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinesian17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear cathrob

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you found our location ideal for the Hydro and enjoyed your meal.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great hotel - had everything we needed. The view over the Clyde was great. The lift worked well. Once we found the on switch for the TV everything was just perfect. Rooms are not over large but plenty adequate if you are out most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear John S

Thank you for your review.

Your kind comments and calling us a great hotel are very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We've been here on and off over the years and despite the name changes and management changes this place has still got it - mainly thanks to the food, which is so far superior to everything else in this price bracket, but the rooms still feel fresh and appealing too. So - breakfast was very good with a large hot and cold buffet and plenty of good, ripe fruit. Dinner was good and fresh, with a great selection of some complex dishes and some simpler choices, including some nice salads. The bed was comfy and the room was immaculate. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. For the rate we were on, I think around £60-70 per night, I think it's seriously good value and much, much nicer than any of the other hotels in that part of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dismal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,350 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,124 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing