We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the SECC - and pretty good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great location for the SECC - and pretty good value”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed in the City Inn one Saturday evening in July. A little disappointed to find that the car park was closed, and although directed to the nearby SECC car park, I felt that it would not have been difficult for the hotel to advised of this in advance of my arrival.

The hotel is ideally situated for the SECC and Glasgow Science Centre - tourists beware that it is a good 20 minte walk from the city centre.

Room was spacious and well equipped (an iMac rather than the standard tv), and was clean and functional.

Breakfast was a little disappointing - the bacon was microwaved and the toast was less than appetizing.

Overall a reasonable stay.

  • Liked — Location for the SECC
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmckelvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,000
    329
    110
    44
See reviews for
290
1,116
138
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed 1 night heading north to Skye. Loved the cofortable rooms all with Apple computers and free wifi. The location isn't the best and you really need a taxi to get into the city centre which the staff can arrange very easily. Breakfast was excellent and unrushed. Its a great stop over and will stay again.

  • Liked — comfortable rooms, free wifi
  • Disliked — location outside city centre
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Welshrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We arrived quite early with our flight from Dublin, so took de train from Prestwick into Central Station of Glasgow. On the way I remembered I had not told the hotel bout our early arrival, so gave them a call. They did not make any problems and told us a room would be ready as soon as we got there. From Central Station it is half an hour walk but luckily the weather was dry and we did not have too much luggage for our 2 night stay.
At arrival we were told that they could only give us a smoking room on the street side (do bare in mind we had not given any preference before and early check-in is at their discration when rooms are available), so we decided to go into town and leave our bags with them. When we came back after 3 o'clock we were greeted by again very friendly staff who explained us where everything was in the hotel and the times for dinner/breakfast etc. We got a lovely non-smoking room overlooking the river Clyde (as we had asked for), non smoking and (to my boyfriends delight) an iMac computer/tele.. The room is clean and well stocked if you plan to use the mini-bar.
This review is maybe a bit long, but again I am seriously happy we stayed at the City Inn.. Another great experience!!

  • Liked — iMac installation, cleanliness, service of the staff
  • Disliked — if had to be
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Dutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My daughter and I have just returned from this lovely hotel.
We had an overnight stay as we were attending a pop concert.
The hotel is a short walk from the SECC and that is the reason we chose the hotel .
Reception was welcoming and we were informed of the location of the restaurant , our room etc
The room was exceptionally clean and well presented { keep up the good work !}
We stayed in a twin room which overlooked the river Clyde.
The room was adequate for our needs and we loved the I- Mac t.v!
Two very minor grumbles-
The bathroom was extremely small and the shower did not have a lot of "power " in it, {more like a slow trickle}

Continental breakfast is buffet style but hot breakfast has to be ordered once you are seated.
The waitress has to watch to see when you have finished your continental and then present you with the cooked breakfast.
When it is not timed right it can be a bit of a disaster as we found out.
We hadn't finished the continental and then the cooked breakfast arrived.!
That being said the continental and cooked breakfast were suberb.

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel, just don't tell everyone!

  • Liked — Two things- clean room and I -mac T.V !
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANYA2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I stayed at the City Inn for a week on business and was really impressed. This hotel seems to be aimed towards people on business rather than tourists and having that in mind, it's a great place. The lobby/reception is small but very efficient. It's modern and bright and leads on to a fairly small bar and a lovely restaurant. The public areas don;t need to be huge, as the areas are well designed.
The rooms are compact but well set out with everything you could want for your stay. The decor is bright and fresh and my room had a huge window overlooking the river, which i really liked. Instead of an old dusty telly, i had a new iMac, meaning not only did i have a wide range of channels, but also the internet and all the facilities you get with a state of the art bit of kit like an that. Fantastic!! I had brought my laptop and didn't even take it out of my case. All free too- no extra costs for WiFi. I had a great shower (no bath) which suited me fine, a good hair dryer, nice glasses (not just the little things you usually get in a bathroom) decent fridge and wait for it-REAL MILK! Nothing worse than those little cartons of milk-like stuff in most hotels. Good coffee and a selection of teas. That made a real difference to me, as daft as it sounds. Gave a much homier feel than hotels usually have.
The restaurant and breakfast was excellent. I only ate in the restaurant for one evening, but had a lovely meal. However, the breakfast was top rate and i enjoyed that everyday. A great selection and perfectly cooked.
The staff at the City Inn are a credit. Every single person i met there was polite, genuinely friendly and very professional.
I'd only suggest very minor changes to the City Inn: an ice machine perhaps- i had to call room service every night and felt a little mean for it, even thought they insisted it was no problem. Also, the toiletries (shampoo etc) were a little less impressive than everything else. I'm being really picky, because i really was impressed by the hotel and when i come back to Glasgow next time, I'll make sure i get to stay there again.

  • Liked — Very modern, great facilities in the room and lovely staff
  • Disliked — No ice machine, need more towels
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We used this Hotel as we were attending an event at the adjacent Exhibition Venue. We booked through a Travel Agent as this was one of the closest hotels so we weren't really sure what to expect for what we had paid. We were actually suprised by how close the Hotel was. When we stayed we were both very surprised by the high general standard on offer and how pleasant the staff were - its always good to see a smiling face when you have been travelling for a while and the friendly receptionist made us feel very welcome when we eventually got in. I'd heard the scots were good for a bit of banter!

I had never heard of City Inn before, but if Glasgow is anything to go by I would recommend them to anyone. Nice, clean and modern. Breakfast was great too - much more than your normal bog standard stuff!! God knows we needed something to perk us up before we faced the drive again!

  • Liked — Clean, modern, friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Stayed at the City Inn, for concert we had booked at SECC, reviews showed SECC was not that far away, boy were they rite. Took a taxi from train station to hotel, approx £6.00. At the hotel we were very impressed, nice modern decor, friendly staff, excellent location for SECC. Literally 10 mins walk away. Definitely recommended and wll certainly stay again if we were to go to another concert at SECC

  • Liked — location, decor, ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,352 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,124 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing