We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel under all of it's guises, City Hotel, Mint Hotel and now Hilton Garden Hotel. It's always a pleasurable experience staying here. Nothing is a problem to the staff. I take the kids to various events at the SECC and it is not possible to book 1 adult and 2 children via their website. I usually just call in advance to make sure their policy hasn't changed but they always tell me to book 1 adult and 1 child and write in the extra requirements section that a second child will be staying and they sort the rest out. They usually ask if we would like an extra bed placed in the room but to be honest the large queen bed is more than adequate for us. Their beds are tall and comfortable just as a good hotel should be, with lovely fresh cotton sheets and we always get great nights sleep here. The rooms aren't huge nor luxurious but they are bright and well equipped. There's the iMac for starters, that keeps the kids entertained. The room has TV, fridge and Tea & coffee making facilities. The rooms are always spotlessly clean too. The bathroom is bright, very well lit, clean and stocked with toiletries.

The hotel is situated just a stones throw from the SECC and the Hydro so it has a great location. It has lovely views of the Clyde from the riverside rooms too. The staff are polite and helpful.

I've read a few negative reviews regarding their breakfast but for us, it's always the perfect ending to our stay at the Hilton. The food is cooked in small batches so it isn't sitting around for a long time, There is a choice of cooked food, cereals, toast, pastries and the kid's favourite - the waffle machine! They love making their own waffles. There are fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee. Yes as others have mentioned it can get busy in the dining room especially the morning after an event at the SECC but you always get served and they never rush you to leave, I don't see what the problem is with being busy, surely that's a good sign?

We will be back in December and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeakerMeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,000
    329
    110
    44
See reviews for
290
1,116
138
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel is perfectly situated for the SECC. Room was clean, only downside was the bathroom was very small. We had a meal in the restaurant - it was good but quite a limited choice. We paid extra for a river view but don't think I would bother with that again. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Catmac0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent location for the above venues. We stayed here because we were going to a concert at the Hydro which is a couple of minutes walk away. Rooms were lovely and bright, clean and quite spacious. The only thing that let down the hotel was breakfast the next day. Very busy obviously due to the concert the previous night but the food was poor and only warm. Nice friendly staff although service a bit slow in the bar area. Would stay again but go elsewhere for breakfast.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudydudy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This Hotel has had a few name changes City Inn,Mint Hotel ,and now the Hilton Garden inn. I have had the pleasure of staying at all the transistions. However the Quality and standards have never changed,i put this down to the Staff who are well motivated and work extremely hard to provide a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Many times it is mentioned that the rooms etc are on the small side. This hotel punches well above its weight,and the thing you notice when you visit on perhaps a once or twice a year over a prolonged period is that This hotel has been adding to its amenities,some very nice additions like the 24 hr snack station.
Anyhow my wife and i went on the 4th October for a concert,as soon as we arrived greeted by Attentive reception staff and made very welcome. Gorgeous bright room,and i must admit i have stayed at some nice hotels,but alway this hotel is at the top for cleansiness and well maintaned fixture and fittings. Had pre concert meal in Restaurant ,very good value and good choice. Nice presented food,with attentive staff. My fave part now after concert going back to the bar,always a nice buzz,and my praise for the bar staff who work so hard to look after all the patrons well into the early hours and with a smile as well !.
Breakfast was very good with a good choice. I keep promising myself that i will stay here for a weekend outside of a concert. You will guess from my review i am most biased towards this hotel,its not the Hilton brand that has kept this hotel as key hotel in Glasgow,its the staff,thankyou for our lovely stay. Russ

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed overnight while attending a concert in the SECC. The room was great with a comfy bed and all the amenities you could ask for. Our room faced onto the river with an excellent view up and down the Clyde of the Squinty Bridge and the new BBC & STV buildings, which look fantastic at night lit up. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and asked us how the show was the night before when we checked out, even though they must hear the same story from numerous guests.

We can't comment on the food, as we had a table booked at the Chinese restaurant in the Rotunda across from the hotel.

A plus side to its location is getting into your room 10 minutes after you've been to a show at the SECC, Armadillo or Hydro and getting that fuzzy feeling knowing you're not sitting in a long que waiting to get home.

Would definately recommend the Garden Inn if you are visiting the SECC or even just visiting Glasgow in general.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclehuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights primarily to attend the Good Food Show at the SECC. I was previously a fan of the City Inn brand which this hotel was in a previous life. Superb location a few minutes' walk from the SECC and alongside the Clyde Arc Bridge and the crane on the Clyde. Plus points are the location for the SECC, Auditorium and the new Hydro (MOBO awards were on on the Saturday night and the hotel coped with being full really well) and the food, room, facilities and most importantly the staff were wonderful. We ate in the restaurant one night and the bar the next; both excellent. Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were lovely for breakfast. Tourist bus stops outside and taxi to the city centre is under 5GBP. Housekeeping staff stood stood out too. Glasgow is a superb city and this hotel embodies many of its positive qualities.

Room Tip: We paid the supplement for a riverside room and felt it was worth it - even saw a seal swimming up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirteensteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the first time I've stayed in Glasgow, and I couldn't have chosen at a better hotel. The bedrooms were light and airy and well equipped, and the bed was an absolute delight. The food and drink were reasonably priced and the breakfast was fantastic. Everything you could want.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdtenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,352 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
1,124 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing