We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I assume that the Hilton Garden Inn has been built with the upcoming Commonwealth Games in mind and is ideally situated opposite the new velodrome. It has exceptionally good, reasonably priced and secure parking (surprising how much this can cost with some hotels) - here £5 per day.
The usual style is applied to the hotel - this brand seems to be able to avoid the 'bed factory' feel of a Premier Inn, whilst being similar in price. Overall, good food (excellent breakfast), pleasant intelligent staff and an accessible venue.

Room Tip: Facing the river is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Andrew F

Thank you for your review.

Our hotel was actually opened in 2000 although we ensure it is kept in great condition with frequent refurbishments and our Property team keep on top of wear and tear.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,671 - 1,677 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This really is a lovely hotel. Facilities, Staff, Cleanliness and Food all of a high standard and if you can get a good deal on Bed and Breakfast its well worth the money. Even although its a little bit further away from the center of Glasgow taxi fares into the center are around £4-£5 for up to 5 people so certainly sould be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Julie L

Thank you for your review.

Glasgow taxis are amongst the cheapest of major cities in the UK, in addition the train station connected to the SECC offers a frequent service to central Glasgow.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I like the way this hotel did things. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful and our room was clean, fresh and modern - simply furnished but with everything you needed, including a safe. We had a room facing the road, which wasn't that attractive, but the windows blocked out all traffic noise. The airconditioning worked well, and we actually needed it during the 'heatwave'! The TV was an Apple computer, and there was a keyboard under the desk, so with free wifi this was perfect. In contrast, friends staying at the Crowne Plaza up the road were absolutely ripped off with the wifi. They would have moved to the Hilton but for the fact that, as they weren't a couple, the twin rooms didn't feel big enough at the Hilton. Anyway... the other great thing about this hotel is its position on the river. Glasgow generally doesn't seem to have cottoned onto the fact that they have a waterway on their doorstep and could really make use of it more. There are very few cafes or restaurants actually on the river. The Hilton is one of the few exceptions. You can either sit on the restaurant terrace and buy a meal or drink or you can just sit in the free area on the terrace and soak up the summer sunshine. In the reception area, just before entering the restaurant, there is a kind of 24-hour snack bar where you can grab a sandwich or some fruit or even microwave a meal. During the morning, they also put out tea and coffee in the lobby. It is so nice not to feel ripped off at every turn. The guest laundry also made a big difference to us. Staying for six nights, we really needed to have clean clothes and the laundry was great.
Breakfast I found to be very good, and they do excellent porridge. The only real negative to the hotel seemed to be the slow service in the restaurant. We ate there a couple of times and had to wait absolutely ages for our meals. I think this must be a problem in the kitchen rather than with the wait staff but they do really need to sort this out, as it's letting them down.
In terms of accessibility, this hotel is very convenient to the convention centre but a bit of a trek into the city. To save your legs, take the train into the city centre. Taxis are readily available and not too expensive.

Room Tip: Pay more and get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtemisBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear ArtemisBrisbane

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that some of the services we offer helped make your stay comfortable.

Complimentary Wifi, in addition to the in-room iMac and business centre allow guests to keep up to date on the internet.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely hotel, with easy access tio the exhibition centre. Room overlooking the river was lovely, small but very well furnished, good internet access and Apple IT. Breakfast lovely, hotel friendly and secure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Emma M

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and rated your experience 5/5!

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I loved this hotel and it's location. The room was very good, it was quiet, the food was good too. The staff was very nice, but in the bar they should pay a little more attention to customers wanting service, besides that it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Bianca Maria DE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Bianca Maria DE B

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and take on board your comments regarding service in the bar.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Good - Staff pleasant, and room clean.There was a bus stop for the hop on hop off bus out front which is why we selected the hotel plus you could book out at midday, plus a carpark if you have a car which we did. The bad - Very unattractive façade, in an unorthodox location in Glasgow. Almost industrial and has appearance of a sterile businessman's hotel. Don't stay there if you are a tourist. We immediately changed two hotels to apartments for the next locations in our holidays!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Mitzzi

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that the hotel location was not to your taste.

As you have mentioned the Glasgow tour bus stops outside our hotel which is a great way of viewing the sights of the city.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed in a lovely room with a comfortable bed, tea and coffee-making facilities and modern furnishings, it even had an iMac computer (with its internet and radio/TV capabilities)! All that you would need jam-packed into a small but comfortable space. We even had the chance to wash and dry our clothes for only 1.5 pounds. The hotel is about half an hour's walk from the centre of Glasgow, less than 10 minutes' walk to a railway station that will take you into the centre and only 3 minutes walk to hire car agencies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Greg H

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that our hotel exceeded your expectations.

The guest laundry we provide (in addition to our regular dry cleaning service) is proving popular as it allows guests to quickly wash and dry some clothes before departing.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#35 of 93 in Glasgow
2,420 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,442 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $71 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing