We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #36 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Set by the River Clyde this is an ideal hotel if you want a comfortable stay in Glasgow. The amenities are great with a bar and restaurant on site aswell as a gym. The rooms themselves are comfortable with free wifi and complimentary tea and coffee. There is also an ironing board and hair dryer aswell as small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Within walking distance are a few restaurants aswell as a MacDonalds. Pubs are 10-15 minutes walk and should you want snacks there is Tesco and Nisa nearby.
You can take a nice stroll by the side of the Clyde into the main part of Glasgow and take in the scenery.
The only qualm I have about the hotel was the price of the beer. Take a tip and walk into town it's cheaper, but part from that icannot fault the hotel itself.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night ask for an odd numbered room as the even numbers are by the River and peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoop_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear scoop_1972

Thank you for your review

Your positive comments are very welcome, we do listen to feedback and feel our beer priced at £3.95 is competitive with hotels of a similar standard in Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    975
    317
    105
    41
See reviews for
274
1,077
135
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Staff were very pleasant on arrival and couldn't be more helpful :) we checked in before the time allocated and our rooms were ready ! Rooms are lovely especially looking over the river . Hotel is spotless ! Bar prices are reasonable going rate for any hotel although soft drinks were more expensive than alcohol . Will definetly return to this hotel already booked for October :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Gilly000

Thank for such a positive review.

It is pleasing to learn that the staff were pleasant and you found the hotel to be very clean.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A last minute decision to spend a couple of days in Glasgoow took us to this hotel, having previously always stayed in the west End. The hotel was excellent, staff very helpful and the room with its view of the river was spotless. Other reviewers commented on the distance from the city centre but we did not find too far to walk and enjoyed very much our stroll along the Clyde before heading up Jamaica street.

Will definitely be back in the future

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Kate M

Thank you for awarding us 5/5!

I agree that our location is ideal, beside the SECC we are between the shopping district and west-end, both are a short walk away.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently stayed at this Hotel which is right on the river with an excellent terrace overlooking the water. As with most City hotels the rooms are not large but well furnished and we found it very comfortable. The only slight problem was the size of the bathroom which was rather cramped for a large person. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank H2hhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear H2hhk

Thank you for your review.

Our terrace overlooking the river Clyde is a fantastic facility and very popular.

It is pleasing that you found breakfast to be excellent.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pantasaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

3rd stay , great location . helpfull staff , food pricey but very good , thank you . for a nice stay on grandma duties staff could not be more helpful ,
check on itson for meal deals better value , than al a carte .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123parki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear 123parki

Thank you for choosing to stay with us 3 times!

I am delighted that you found the staff helpful and the food in City Café to be very good.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel looks great, room looked good, BUT only showers no baths, bed is rock hard so expect a bad back, room service pah ! The order was totally WRONG ethically wrong, on complaint replaced but when I checked out and said I want to complain about the bad nights sleep due to the rock hard bed I was told 'oh you have to do that on the website' zero interest in resolving so yes you have a negative review Mr Night Manager on duty at 6am on 19 july !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellichops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Hellichops

Thank you for your review.

It is obviously disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay, our general manager has been in touch directly to discuss.

We do not have any rooms with baths in our hotel and I am sorry that our beds (that were all replaced last year) were not to your taste – many guests have enquired about purchasing our beds after enjoying their stay.

An error was made with your room service order which we were truly sorry and replaced within 5 minutes and given complimentary.

I am sorry that you did not find the night manager helpful, he did provide the business card of the general manager with email and mobile number to allow your concerns to be discussed directly.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and overall enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice, we were upgraded to a room with a view for nothing since we were staying for 4 nights so were glad we hadn't paid for it when we made the booking online. The room was well equipped and the iMac computer/tv system was ideal. The room did have a fridge, which would have been great had it been working, we did report it, but no difference, so we mentioned it on checkout and they said housekeeping and checked it, however as a goodwill gesture our parking fee was waived. I have to say the reception staff were always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice most days. Only one negative was one of the restaurant supervisors on day 3 of our stay, he was very friendly, but I have to say wasn't very good at keeping everything topped up, including tea and coffee which is not self service. His excuse couldn't have been that they were busy because that day it was extremely quiet. In fact there was still 20 minutes left before breakfast ended and one of the reception staff practically had to plead with him to fill up the complimentary tea and coffee flasks which are for the reception area. However, he was the exception to the rule as far as breakfast was concerned, the rest of the restaurant staff were very attentive and made sure everybody had everything they needed. I would say the restaurant at night was a bit disappointing, very expensive for what you get and meals coming out if the kitchen were quite slow and again it wasn't particularly busy. The seating area outside was nice, especially with the weather being so good. However, I would say, it would be nice if there was a designated smoking area outside and a non-smoking area so that us non-smokers could also enjoy dining alfresco. Overall I would stay in this hotel again, it is reasonably priced for B&B, it is well placed for visiting the different attractions and the friendly staff definitely made our stay even more pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ureferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear ureferg

Thank you for your review.

You constructive feedback is very welcome and will be used to ensure we consistently provide a high level of service.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#40 of 95 in Glasgow
2,313 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,212 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing