We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely night away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely night away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at the hilton last night with a friend after booking the night on a deal website. We had a fantastic experience! Staff were all lovely, room was really clean and modern. There were lots of lovely wee extras like fridge, iMac and modern bathroom. Chris (bar manager) was great and excellent on the cocktails! Great customer service. We told him we had a bottle of champaign in our room and he came out with a big ice bucket for us to chill it in and gave us chilled glasses to take up with us - little touches make a big difference! The only disappointing bit was breakfast. We went down at 10 and there was nothing left and everything was cold. Not even a drop of juice which took forever to refil. Ordered off the menu which took ages and arrived over cooked. Eggs were solid! Gave up and finally just ordered a coffee for outside but had to to chase it three times amd it arrived about 20mins later. Waiters just weren't switched on at all which is a shame as it is your last memory of ur night away! When out breakfast was deleived we were actually asked if we would like some cutlery ?! ermmm yeah that would help...All in all we had a really enjoyable night away and would return.... without using the restaurant!!!

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janers2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Janers2323

Thank you for your review.

It is good to learn of the good service you received in the evening, however disappointing that this was not repeated at breakfast.

Due to increased business levels we have introduced a number of new members to the team, I am sorry that the service you received was not consistent.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    929
    305
    102
    34
See reviews for
255
1,029
131
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms at this Hilton are a bit on the neat side, However they are decorated to a high standard and more than suitable for a couple of nights, When you book check quote as river views usually cost extra. The breakfast is fine but nothing like the Hilton City, We like the relaxed atmosphere at this hotel. The staff are very friendly . There is a lovely decking area by the river which is wonderful, particularly on a sunny evening, It,s a great place to chill. The hotel is ideal if you are attending an event at the SECC, Armadillo, or the new venue The Hydro. It's a little out of town is you don't have a car, or need to be in the thick of things. However a taxi is about £8.00.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CariW3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear CariW3401

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you found the staff friendly and the atmosphere to be relaxed, this is exactly what we set out to achieve at Hilton Garden Inn.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for the SECC, Clyde Auditorium, Science Centre or the Riverside Museum – they are all within easy walking distance. You can also catch the red sightseeing bus from there. However, you may find the hotel a little out of the way for visiting things in the city, and there are not really any major bus routes easily accessible without walking fairly far, so you will need to spend money on taxis to get around. You can of course walk into the centre but this will take some time, and the area around the hotel is probably not very conducive to walking as there is a flyover and noisy roads in the vicinity. Apart from these points, the hotel was perfect for a short stay. I would recommend getting the buffet breakfast as it is varied and plentiful and will save you time looking for a place to eat. If you book it in advance you'll get a discounted rate too. The evening meal at the hotel was less good, and quite expensive, but would certainly fill you up if you don’t want to go out (there is in fact an excellent Indian restaurant, ‘India Quay’, just opposite the hotel, so this could be a better evening option). The rooms seem to be quite small but they have everything you need, including a Mac TV/computer which you can use to surf the net free of charge, which was a real bonus. There are also tea/coffee making facilities and everything was clean and comfortable, including the very spacious shower. The staff were also very friendly and helpful, and in addition there is a very useful business centre where you can print out documents, and a small fitness room with running machines and weights etc. All-round, perhaps a good business hotel, and ideal if you’re attending a conference nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear coarica

Thank you for your review.

Our complimentary business centre is a great facility allowing free printing and internet access in addition to the iMacs in the rooms and Wifi throughout the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a night away at robbie Williams concert last week, paid quite a lot for one night and was shocked to find breakfast was not included however after my stay I found it worth it. Gorgeous river view and lovely clean room the lady on the reception desk (I think her name was Maria) was very polite and a credit to the hotel would stay again and have already recommended to a friend who is staying later this year

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Hannah S

Thank you for awarding your stay 5/5 and recommending our hotel.

You may be interested in our ‘Great Getaway’ sale on our website offering 40% discount on selected dates until 30th December.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay and very disappointing. The double room we had on the 4th floor was tiny. There were only 2 of us and still we were having to constantly squeeze by each other just to go to the bathroom. Bed was small also.
Breakfast = absolute chaos. The whole setup needs to be changed. People just queuing due to poor design of the whole area. The toaster doesn't toast and I witnessed the whole thing going on fire due to some girl who obviously couldn't read the sign in front of her saying "do not put anything other than bread through the toasting machine". So of course she sticks in a croissant which lodges itself inside and despite the whole place filling with smoke, and flames coming from the toaster, she was totally oblivious and stands waiting on the croissant coming back out... To be fair though, this may have been avoided if the warning sign actually had a font size which stood out more. The buffet breakfast as a whole was just bare and pathetic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear SummerMoto

Thank you for your review.

The majority of reviews complement our breakfast offering and I am sorry that the buffet was not to your taste, perhaps if you stay again you may wish to order one of our made-to-order breakfasts as highlighted on the menus on every table?

It is disappointing that your scoring appears to have been influenced by the actions of another guest at breakfast.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Booked this for a well deserved "on the town" with my better half. Chose Hilt' Garden as it was best price for this quality hotel for that night and happy I did. Got second floor room overlooking the Clyde. Rooms are probably smaller than other equivalent hotels but very well designed and kitted with little touches such as extra wine glasses, ice bucket, fridge, free wifi and an apple mac again all free internet use. again bathroom smaller than most but design gives it one of the best showers you'll get.
Hotel staff all polite and accommodating even when trying to get that last Guinness at 1am having returned from a night out.
Nothing is perfect therefore need to put some constructive criticism in! Breakfast was very good but get some tea pots. Our Brits, and yes until Mr Salmon get's his way I'm still a Brit, love out pot of tea and having to ask for a top up just isn't right.
Another point to note is when leaving saw through to one of the rooms at back of hotel and that may have been a bit disappointing so suggest ask for a river view.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear BJMcI

Thank you for a very fair review.

I am delighted that you have highlighted the space in our showers, they are far more spacious than having a shower in a bath.

We can deliver tea in a teapot on request at breakfast, we offer it from a large pot as standard to improve the speed of service.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Clean and friendly hotel. About 10 minute taxi ride to the city centre. Hotel does provide parking for £5 a day but there is a cheaper car park across the road for £3 a day which is just as secure. Did not use the restaurant as thought it was over priced for what they were offering. Room had enough space for 2 people and was lovely for the one night stay.

Room Tip: I had a double room which had enough space - was at the front of the building and was very quiet des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear classygirl

Thank you for your review.

It is good to learn that you felt your stay was value for money.

It is regretful that you chose not to dine in City Café, feeling it was over-priced – we feel that we offer a menu to suit all tastes with main courses starting from £9.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing