We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, comfortable rooms, breakfast lets it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great service, comfortable rooms, breakfast lets it down”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Many plus points here: friendly and welcoming Reception staff; in fact all staff very pleasant and efficient; comfortable room (with fridge); great bed and bedding; good storage space; apple pc/tv; good selection of drinks sachets and toiletries in the room; great view if you get riverside room; very handy for SECC, Armadillo and new Hydro - they're all just across the road; good bar & room service menu.

Minus point: the breakfast was poor quality - I was there for 3 nights so am well qualified to comment. Scrambled eggs - overcooked - the chef needs some training; bacon - also overcooked; haggis - had a nasty smell; potato scones - overcooked; yoghurts - cheap variety and unpleasant taste. The ambience of the room is also just not right - loud music playing (sorry but it was too loud for me at 7am and wrong type of music for that time in the morning); some clattering of cutlery as staff put cutlery into a container - diners don't want to hear this noise as they eat their breakfast.

Overall, I will definitely return, but I hope the Management take action on the points I have made about the breakfast quality and arrangements.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Andrew40

Thank you for you review.

Your comments regarding breakfast ambience are correct and will be shared with the team to improve.

The food quality is regularly complimented on this website, however I will ensure our head chef focuses on training the team to maintain a consistently high standard of food.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    990
    321
    109
    43
See reviews for
283
1,093
137
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as exhibition was on at the SECC. On arrival at 11am I was soon checked in (check in time 15.00) so that was a plus point. The room was at the back of the hotel with a good view of the river clyde. The room was very clean with a very comfortable bed and 2 stylish comfortable chairs The bathroom is on the small side with a shower. The imac tv was a nice touch in the room. As I had my tablet with me I was able to try out the free WiFi, but had a poor / fair signal in my room which resulted in a patchy service. I had my evening meal there the first night The food is very good although the portions are on the small side. The next day after a short walk to the SECC rail station I was able to get the train into the city centre. Overall this is a nice clean hotel at a fair price. Only let down by the poor WiFi .but this may be better in other rooms.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDWARD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear EDWARD213

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that the Wifi signal was poor during your stay – this should not have been the case.

We have further enhanced the bandwith this week which will improve this service.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night when in Glasgow celebrating a friend's birthday. Room was fine, well decorated and included a refrigerator which I though was a good plus point. The downside was that we didn't have a good sleep at all. This was due to the extremely noisy air conditioning unit blasting out into the room during the night. I tried to switch this off by turning the controls to 'off' and '0' but it kept on going. I eventually phoned down to Reception at 1.30am and the guy there said it was centrally controlled but he would try and do something. Nothing changed, so we had to put up with it, and it really disrupted our sleep. Not really good enough for a 'Hilton' hotel. We also went for a drink in the bar after we had dinner out, but then decided against it with cocktails such as a Bellini priced at £10! All in all, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, because for the price I paid, I would at least be expecting a decent night's sleep, and just found the prices they charge to be a bit of a rip off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlynnbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear xlynnbx

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations.

The air conditioning should not have disturbed you, it is set to go on if a room falls below a set temperature which may explain why it did not turn off.

The cocktail highlighted is a premium champagne cocktail, our regular cocktails are not as expensive.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice hotel, formely the City Inn and now owned by the Hilton Group. The hotel is next to SECC and fairly close to the city centre which is 5 mins in a taxi. Hotel is modern and clean inside with stylish rooms. Staff were attentive and friendly and front desk were pleased to help with any of our numerous requests!! Food was also of a high quality. Good value for money so will defo return whenever in Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Nick W

Thank you for awarding us 5/5

I am delighted that you found the same high standards you previously experienced and that the food was of high quality.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is situated by the river next to the Exhibition Centre and is not in the city centre. However, it is only about 5 mins to the centre by train.

Friendly receptionists at check in. Nice room overlooking the river. The hotel is a former Mint hotel and has a Mac computer as the TV. The room size verged on the small side but was ok for one night.

The bed was comfortable with good lines. Bathroom bright and clean with nice, large, fluffy towels.

Staff at breakfast were efficient and good selection of dishes at the buffet.

Room Tip: A river view room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin10779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear colin10779

Thank you for your review.

Our beds were all replaced last year and are proving popular with many guests requesting details how to purchase one for their home.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night to attend concert at SECC. Ideal for this location. Room small but well appointed and very comfortable bed. Very friendly staff. Also very quiet, despite only being on first floor and facing road. Location perhaps not so good for general City visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_s65298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear MDS24

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you highly recommend staying here and that you will be choosing to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights whilst on business. The location was excellent for the SECC and Science Centre, which were only a few minutes walk away. Even the City centre was only a 20 minute walk, although disappointingly Glasgow Council really needs to sort out its riverside walkway into the centre and find some way of keeping the cyclists on the cycle path and the pedestrians apart - quite dangerous with cyclists travelling at speed on the same path.

The hotel is modern and the service is of a high standard. The rooms are well appointed. Yes, maybe a little small, but certainly more than adequate. I particularly liked the combined TV/Computer based on the MAC, which with the keyboard and mouse gives you easy and free web access included in the price. As for price, good value for money for a City centre hotel, including a reasonable breakfast that sets you up for the day. In sum, highly recommended and one that I shall use again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking theb river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear MDS24

Thank you for highly recommending us.

I believe plans are in place to improve the riverside walkway before the Commonwealth games next year.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
2,331 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,255 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,920 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 95 in Glasgow
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing