We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights whilst on business. The location was excellent for the SECC and Science Centre, which were only a few minutes walk away. Even the City centre was only a 20 minute walk, although disappointingly Glasgow Council really needs to sort out its riverside walkway into the centre and find some way of keeping the cyclists on the cycle path and the pedestrians apart - quite dangerous with cyclists travelling at speed on the same path.

The hotel is modern and the service is of a high standard. The rooms are well appointed. Yes, maybe a little small, but certainly more than adequate. I particularly liked the combined TV/Computer based on the MAC, which with the keyboard and mouse gives you easy and free web access included in the price. As for price, good value for money for a City centre hotel, including a reasonable breakfast that sets you up for the day. In sum, highly recommended and one that I shall use again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking theb river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear MDS24

Thank you for highly recommending us.

I believe plans are in place to improve the riverside walkway before the Commonwealth games next year.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staying for two nights on business and wanting a modestly priced hotel, I chose this over the more central Jury's Inn because the Hilton Garden Inn has a fitness room. That turned out to be very small (2 treadmills, 1 cross trainer, 2 bikes) but that wasn't a problem as there were hardly any other users. The equipment was great, the fitness room clean and supplied with towels and drinking water.
As other reviewers have noted, the hotel location is perfect for the SECC. There aren't many other local amenities so for eating and drinking there is little choice beyond the hotel's own bar and restaurant - both perfectly ok and reasonably priced.
Staff throughout the hotel were unfailingly cheerful and helpful. Bedroom facilities were more than adequate and although less stylish than (for example) the pricier Radisson Blu, a good notch up from what I might expect in a hotel at this rate.
I paid £75 per night room only - if you want breakfast you can purchase tokens in advance when checking in, these are £10 each instead of (according to one reviewer) £13.50 if you just buy on the spot.
Even though the less central location was new to me (cabs needed from main train stations) I would definitely stay here again, especially if I expected to have time to use the fitness room.

Room Tip: Mine only had a shower, not a bath - which didn't bother me, but other guests might want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Heather G

I am delighted you found our hotel to be good value for money.

Whilst it is great that you chose to dine in the hotel I must highlight that there are 3 restaurants opposite the hotel and a good selection of bars and restaurants around 5 minutes walk away on Argyle Street.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Was attending a concert at the Nearby SECC, less than a 5 minute walk if that..... Got there early but was still able book into my room despite being there 3 hours early, room was great with a lovely view overlooking the River Clyde.... Although the room was small it was more than adequate for my needs, also liked the iMac TV......

When downstairs to the bar, where the bar man happily changed the sports channels to allow me to watch my teams match on Sky. Also enjoyed sitting in the outside terrace after the football watching the world go by whilst enjoying a great fresh coffee. I later grabbed a bar snack before heading out to concert, only downside was that it was expensive for what was basically a snack...

Had a really good sleep, beds were very comfy and hotel was very quiet at night... The breakfast buffet was superb great ingredients including excellent Haggis and the Waffles were pretty darn good as too.....

Highly recommend to visitors to Glasgow, especially people heading to the SECC and the soon to be Hydro for concerts and conferences..... Will be using it more often to save the hassle of travelling home from late night concerts.....

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big_Jimbo_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Big_Jimbo_Mac

Thank you for a great review and awarding us 5/5.

Haggis for breakfast is a great choice and allows guests to sample it for the first time during their stay in Glasgow.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are attending a concert.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed for one night as attending a concert at the SECC. At check in asked if we wanted to upgrade to a river view ( had been £20 more at booking) and were told that it would cost £10 including the parking charge. As we were to pay £5 for parking anyway, worked out only £5 more. It was a lovely day and the river view was well worth it. Rooms are not massive but they have everything you need. Very happy with our stay, all staff that we came into contact with were very pleasant and welcoming. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear CC66

Thank you for rating your stay 5/5!

The hotel would not be the same without happy staff and I am delighted that you found the team very pleasant and plan to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right next to the SECC and next to the river. The lobby of the hotel is pretty much like a Premier Inn, very small with a mini shop where you can buy ready meals, drinks etc. I imagine it must get a bit crowded when the hotel's busy. Check in was fast + friendly. My room was fairly small but adequate with a lovely comfy double bed. You get an iMac which is great so long as you're used to Macs. Internet connection, free Wifi, was a bit dodgy, kept losing connection which was frustrating for me.
The bathroom is tiny; no bath just a power shower which is fine for most people but I do like a bath before bed! Unfortunately they have tiled + grouted in white and the grout had discoloured making the bathroom look slightly dingy even though it had been thoroughly cleaned.
The A/C in my room was incredibly noisy so I switched it off, unfortunately there was still a high pitched whine from somewhere leaving me feeling like I had tinnitus. My room faced the street so there was some noise from the traffic leaving the concert at the SECC. On the other side of the hotel the rooms look over the river so I'd advise asking for a river view room.
Breakfast was superb, lots of choice, good hot Scottish breakfast + great service.
Overall, for the great deal I got on this hotel, I'd definitely recommend providing you don't want a bath!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear jen4549

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

My property manager is looking into the A/C and Wifi issues you have highlighted as this should not have happened.

I am glad that you found breakfast to be of a high standard and that you recommend staying here as long as you do not expect a bath – all of our rooms have power showers.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Check-in very quick and extremely courteous as was checking out. Enquired about my stay and felt that they were genuinely interested in my comments.

Got a room on the first floor facing onto main road. Initially worried about traffic noise, however the Hotel's insulation is very good indeed. Was not a worry at all. Slept like a baby.

Room mega clean and really comfortable bed. Good sized shower and again could not fault the cleanliness of the property.

Great price for room. Hotel has its own car park. Charge for this is £5 for 24hours.

Definitely use again. Great location particularly for the SECC.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear stene

Thank you for such a wonderful review and rating of 5/5.

We pride our self in the high standards of room cleanliness and it is very pleasing that you have recognised this.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

nice welcome, good sized room with a view over the river. Next to SECC and only a short train journey into the centre of town. My Diamond status was acknowledged. Breakfast was nice but the restaurant manager was far too cheerful for that time of the morning (joke!)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Travel_Duck_UK

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that we recognised your loyalty of being a Diamond HHonors member.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,387 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,373 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $86 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing