We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at the hotel a couple of times before, my mum and I were looking forward to another stay and it didn't disappoint.

Staff from reception to breakfast were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room on the fourth floor overlooked the new Commonwealth Games stadium which is currently being completed. The room was clean and the beds really comfortable.

Breakfast was fab as always with loads of tattie scones to keep me happy!

Great location for the SECC and just a short walk into town along the Clyde makes it the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaniemilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Melaniemilko

Thank you for you rating of 5/5.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay having stayed here before.

The new Hydro Arena is due to open in September 2013 and is a spectacular building that will enhance the area further.

Good to read you enjoyed the potato scones and breakfast in general!

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    976
    317
    106
    41
See reviews for
274
1,079
136
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed overnight 12th December. Hotel extremely busy due to Andre Rieu concert at Secc. Reception staff very effecient and friendly, room clean and bed very comfortable. Restaurant fully booked so had to queue for a bar meal, quite a long wait but food was very good. A pleasing experience all round (the concert was marvellous as well) will definately book again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandMisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear ScotlandMisty

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

We were extremely busy for Andre Rieu as you have mentioned and it is great that the food served to you was still of a high standard.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed for a weekend the room was great the pool spotless the whole hotel was clean and well presented the bad part was the restaurant service we got our starters within 20 min but the wait of over 80 min for the mains was not acceptable as we sat waiting tables of 4 and 5 seated and served starters through mains & dessert we decided to go somewhere else to eat just along the road a really good Brazilian restaurant .
However at breakfast the next morning the manager came to see us and explained the food check had gone astray hence they had messed up but the way it was handled by the manager was superb in fact truly fantastic service.
We are happy to recommend the hotel on such service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear robmi9

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in your meal, however your kind comments regarding how this was handled is very welcome.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well presented mid-priced hotel ideal for visiting the SECC.
Room was comfortable and had just about all the amenities you would expect. Food was excellent as was the friendly and professional attitude of the staff. Reception was well handled and the bar and serving staff provided good and attentive service, even though the hotel was extremely busy with an event at the SECC and a Christmas party.
Would recommend this hotel for visiting the SECC but might fbe a little out of the way for a visit to the city of Glasgow.

Room Tip: As for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKF001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear RKF001

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and highlighted the service receive during a very busy time at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great location. Very clean. Very professional staff who are friendly at the same time. The bar is a little pricey but hey what do you expect from a hilton on the water front in Glasgow.
Restaurant was very good too and rooms were perfect. All in all, very happy.

Room Tip: if you are going to the secc, this is the second closest hotel to it, only 3 mins walk away. Sunday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Mark L

Thank you for such a positive review.

It is pleasing that you have highlighted the high standard of our restaurant and bedrooms.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have been stopping at the HGi (the old City inn) on and off for a few weeks now as parking is next door and there is a great Indian restaurant over the road.

The rooms are ok, small, functional with the usual IMac. Bathrooms are very small and a bit tired. The feel of the hotel is definitely travel lodge.
The beds are quite hard and usually high.....
Wifi is free but is rubbish. They would be better offering the additional option for a fast version that most hotels do these days
Service was generally very good and breakfast was quite good - the highlight being the waffle maker!

Will I be back? Probably but will try other options next....

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but rivers views are obviously nicer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear RichardBristol,

Thank you for your review.

The head-line of ‘tired’ is surprising as we have invested £1.5million improving the hotel this year.

We have been working on the complimentary Wifi and it has improved and we will continue to work with our provider to ensure it is to the standard expected.

In addition to complimentary Wifi may I highlight that complimentary internet access can be found via the iMac in the bedrooms, through cable in the room and in our business centre – all facilities you would not find in the brand mentioned in your review.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for one night at this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and the reception and booking in very easy. This hotel is in an ideal situation for the SSEC auditorium as well as the Armadillo and the Science Museum. We were attending a radio show at the BBC studios which, along with the STV studios, are within walking distance. There is a restaurant in the hotel and also other very good restaurants nearby. The only amazing thing was that when we went for a drink to the hotel bar they did not have any blended Scotch whisky. A hotel in the largest city in Scotland with no Scotch blended whisky? Doh!. They did however have a blended Irish whisky and also Scotch malt.
All in all a good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flembo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear flembo69

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for the shortage in blended whisky – demand had been higher than expected however this was replaced the next day. One of our malts was reduced to the blended price to ensure value for money.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#40 of 95 in Glasgow
2,316 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,217 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing