We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for accommodation, food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel for accommodation, food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in November 2012, this was the first time I had stayed in the hotel and it was first-class. The food was fantastic, service was great and staff were very helpful. I had a river-view room, which although a tiny bit small had everything I needed. The breakfast was brilliant - they have a waffle making machine so even though I had a fried breakfast I couldn't resist having a waffle with maple syrup for dessert (I did share it though) - delicious. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel and can't wait to book again.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a river-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    947
    310
    103
    38
See reviews for
261
1,052
133
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I haven't stayed here since Hilton took over so wondered how things might have changed. Pleased to report that standards remain high.
As a single guest, I was allocated a twin room. On previous occasions my husband and I had occupied a room with a king size bed. Immediately I noticed how much smaller the room seemed with two beds. Rooms are fairly compact in any case. However, room overlooked river, was bright and freshly painted and well equipped. Bathroom scrupulously clean and plenty of towels and toiletries. Only criticism I would have was the very weak shower. Told the receptionist about this at check out and she apologised.
Had breakfast both mornings, ordering omelettes that were brought to me at the table having been freshly prepared. Range of fresh fruit ok and coffee reasonable. Service seemed slow but it was busy and I was not in a hurry.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: Definitely a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invernesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here 4 times and its great, perfect for any event being held at the SECC and a quick taxi ride into the centre. Love the imac computer in the room which is great for popping on some music to get ready to. Staying again in January 2013 and looking forward to it very much!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma23Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked this hotel through expedia as I always stay here when I'm in Glasgow. The hotel is bright, updated, clean and although the rooms are a bit small, they have everything you need. I tried changing my reservation through expedia to move it back a day - and after half an hour on the phone, the change was going to be over $500. I called the hotel directly and the person who answered was so courteous and helpful and within 5 minutes had everything changed for me at no cost. This type of customer service is what keeps me coming back each trip!

Room Tip: the river view rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tforsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel has excellent staff and the rooms are comfortable and clean but the food served comes far short on value for money.

Portions are small and the ingredients used at breakfast anr of the poorest quality.

Room Tip: Eat at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Calum R

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for our food offering not meeting your expectations.

All of our food is freshly prepared to order and your comments are very concerning – I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to get additional feedback.

Kind Regards
Brian
brian.mcnelis@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Neat little rooms that were very clean, but could have done with 2 chairs as there were 2 of us. The computer tv was also very good.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was excellent. The only downside was the length of time it took us to get it. We were in the restaurant for an hour berfore we got our main course. The drinks are also a bit pricy, but I expected that.
I would definately stay again.
For anyone wanting to use public transport the no 100 bus runs into Glasgow from outside the hotel. Unfortunately it only runs until 5pm (or 3pm if you want to travel from Glasgow) The train is also good as it is only a short walk from the SECC to the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear alicanne

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal, however it should not have taken as long and I apologise.

We have increased the size of the beds in the twin rooms to improve comfort for sleeping. One chair has been removed to increase space – we are happy to provide one on request.

Our double rooms have 2 chairs.

It is good to read you enjoyed our iMac computer/TV system offering complimentary internet and Sky Sports.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hilton garden is ideally situated for the secc (next door)with the town a short drive away it is situated next to the clyde with pleasant views across the water to the stv and bbc centres the rooms arent massive but reasonable with the usual facilities and apple tv/computer and extra sound system with sub. comfortable bed and (in my case)views out to the river ,good efficient service at reception and restaurant meals good breakfast(buffet) good
downsides the drinks prices i think to be charged over 4gbp per small bottle of magners plus an extra 2 gbp to bring 2 bottles to the table a little excessive also i think to pay over 100 gbp for a room and then a further 6 gbp to park in their car park also excessive i think for those reasons i wouldn't stay again i dont personally pay for my stays but its a matter of principle!
nice hotel spoiled by over zealous extras

Room Tip: river view rooms are pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear philip t

Thank you for reviewing on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you found our facilities to be of a high standard and enjoyed our bar and restaurant food and service.

Our car parking charge of £5 is one of the best value prices you will find for over-night parking at any hotel of a similar standard in Glasgow and our bottled beer/cider priced at £3.95 is also in line with other hotels.

A discretionary service charge of 10% is added to all orders that are delivered to the table – all of this goes to the staff and we are happy to remove on request.

It would be great if you would re-consider and stay again as your review suggests that you were generally happy with your stay.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#38 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing