We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ace of Spades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ace of Spades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked a room for the night here as part of visiting Glasgow to see Motohead with a friend.

Reception were quick and courteous do deal with our check-in and were presented with key cards and details about the hotel, restaurant and bar times. They also arranged a taxi to take us to the gig.

The room was pleasant with extremely comfortable beds, a clean and bright bathroom and an imac for Tv/Internet usage. Unfortunately our room did not look over the Clyde but that did not cause any problems. Maybe next time.....

After the gig we stayed in the bar for a few hours. The bartender on that night was brilliant! He couldn't believe that we had been to see Motorhead and we struck-up a good conversation with him.

Sleep was uninterrupted apart from housekeeping coming into the room around 9.30am which was a bit of a disappointment.Other than that the room was quiet and I'd love to know where the pillows are from as they were SO comfortable.

Check-out was painless and then it was just a case of getting to the station to head home.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to stay in Glasgow for a night or two. The view along the river is spectacular with all the landmarks lit-up.

I'll be sure to go back!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a view over the river. It would make the stay that little bit more '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Paul V

Thank you for such a positive review following your recent stay.

The views over the Clyde are indeed spectacular at night.

Next time you stay I will gladly tell you where we get our pillows from!

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    871
    280
    88
    31
See reviews for
228
938
126
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I can see why some reviewers say that this hotel is a bit 'out of the way'. It is, and it is definitely NOT in one of Glasgow's more celubrious areas. Nevertheless, it is perfectly situated for a stay after a gig at the awful SECC, the warm-sounding Armadillo or, in our case, the superb Ferry which is only ten minutes along the road.

All was fine except for the lack of a veggie sausage at breakfast. I mean, how hard can it be to have a packet of veggie sausages in the freezer? While the carnivore's tucked into bacon, black pudding etc we had to make do with everything except the meat, and at nearly £115 b'n'b this is not a cheap overnight stay.

Apart from this everything was ok. Even the coffee was drinkable this time around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear We_are_Ali_and_Malky

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you chose to stay with us again.

We have vegetarian sausage and haggis available and is made to order – please accept my apologies for this not being offered to you.

Thank you for highlighting the coffee as I know from reading your previous review that this was not to your taste last time.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here before when it was the Mint and also a City Inn. Very nice hotel and perfect for SECC.

Rooms are pretty standard in terms of size with the added bonus of a Mac TV with free Internet access and also free wifi across the hotel.

We had dinner for convenience here too and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Highlandbloke

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay having stayed previously when we were a different brand.

Thank you for highlighting the complimentary Wifi that is a brand standard for the 550 Hilton Garden Inn hotels worldwide and also that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

excellent hotel in great location right by the Squinty Bridge and great views over the Clyde. Good disabled access room although on the small side but it had all the necessary bathroom adaptions. We had an excellent breakfast overlooking the Clyde which would have been lovely in good weather.
Was only staying one night b&b so didn't use all the facilities but what we used and saw were appropriate for a three star hotel.
Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveArup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I travelled to Glasgow to see Michael McIntyre and stayed at the perfectly placed hilton garden, I booked 2 months in advance and got a very good price for what was meant to be a suite, we got into the hotel and thought it was very nice. Got up to our room and was wondering if a cupboard hid the rest of the room. IT WAS TINY!!! No chance on earth should this be advertised as a suite. I went to reception and queried it. She told me that all the rooms are the same and the only diference between prices were the river view or city view, we had paid £100 per night for a box with an extremely uncomfortable bed. Both days we stayed we had to call housekeeping for extra towels as they left enough for perhaps a small child! We ate there the first night and after sending both starters and main courses back we had a delicious desert. Then came the cheque, after deciding amongst themselves that the waiter who we hardly saw deserved a 10% tip we just wanted to leave! He was slow and uninterested. Except when talking to his friend who sat behind us. I think I'm being quite generous in giving the hotel a 3* review but not all of it was bad. I very much doubt we will be returning to the hotel due to prices, room quality and poor food.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visit family frequently in Glasgow and now use this as our preferred hotel. At the weekends pricing is very good, the rooms are adequate as long as you accept they don't have a bath, it is clean and with good parking. In a good weather we can sit at the riverside or go for a wander along the river banks, and a short walk or quick taxi gets you to the West End or City Centre. Access from the M8 and the Clydeside Expressway is excellent. It can get busy when there is a concert on at the SECC and can get inundated with football fans given its proximity to Ibrox but my wife is happy sitting in the bar reading a book on her own, my son is content studying in a room and the staff are top notch. Basic hotel that works very well

Room Tip: Try to get a river view- but they are all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here many times when it was City Inn and am pleased that quality is at least as good. We were attending gig at SECC so parking and short walk were key. Rooms are excellent - chic and uncluttered. The bar could do with a little character but aside that, no complaints. Car park good value for city centre - easy access to and from M8. Great view of the squinty bridge too!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DH_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#34 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 95 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 2,809 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 4,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing