We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value and service A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding value and service A great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here before in previous incarnations as the city inn
If anything it is even better as a garden inn.
We paid £53.40 for a room which was less than the budget hotels in town
Worth every penny - the room was spotless and had a nice welcome basket of Scottish biscuits and juice. The bathroom is a bit small but as you don't go to a hotel to hang about in the bathroom who cares
In room iMac/tv combo is really cool

The only negative point is that the car park badly needs the spaces relined to make parking positions clearly as they are very faded

This is a great hotel which we would use again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    947
    310
    103
    38
See reviews for
261
1,052
133
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is my 2nd visit to Glasgow in the space of 5 weeks. \last time \i stayed on St. Georges Square and had an awful experience. on my last trip I also visited Birmingham and had stayed in a Hilton Garden Inn property and was most satisfied so for this quickly arranged visit from downunder I chose the safe option again and booked the Glasgow Hilton Garden Inn.
Again I was not dissappointed!.. This brand is clearly well thought through . This Glasgow property is completely consistent with the sister hotel in Birmingham . Whoever manages this brand can be congratulated.. it's an excellent product! Rooms are quite compact but not noitcably small as everything is well thought out and placed.. a good work desk with a brilliant chair, adequate wardrobe, a comfortable chair to relax in, full lenght window with a nice view,(this helps to give the room a more spacious feel) and a good size bed with very comfortable pillows. The iMac TV and computer are smart up to date touches and there is also a safe.. The bathroom is small but has everything , hooks, lot's of towel spave a good size wash basin and a large showe stall..The lighting in the bathroom and the bedroom is very good . The laundry services is expensive however an in house guest laundry is good for a longer stay. So honestly , if you don't want to risk getting a bad room book in here as this room is close to perfect for a no hassel business visit. Breakfast is good , lot's of choices .. but best of all is the really pleasant service.. After 2 days the staff knew my name and always gave a cheerful greeting. A pot, yes a big , individual pot of tea or coffee was delivered within a few seconds and attentive service9clearing etc) was carried out swiftly and unobtrusively.. Fresh coffee while you finish reading the paper.. you don't even have to ask!! Good selection of daily papers too.... Reception staff pleasant and efficient...There is a good business centre with an excellent printer and also a great little gym.. Honestly , what more could you want for a 4 or 5 day business stay..Location is on the river but acertainly out of the city centre action.. nothing a £5 taxi fare dosen't solve.. I'm a fan of the Hilton Garden Inn brand and when in doubt will always book one of these properties.. you know exactly what your getting and what you're getting is excellent.

Room Tip: ask for a river view.. 50% of rooms have this aspect so the chances are good.;.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a clean hotel with a new feel to it. It is pretty well located with good parking (5 pounds/day) but also within walking of some restaurants or sights.

I found the room to be spotless and comfortable. Fee WiFi and an iMac in the room is a nice touch. Note there is only a shower, no tub if you care (I prefer a nice shower than a shower-in-a-tub)
We had a rate with breakfast included and I would suggest this-- hot breakfast was good. Crowded but I had no problem with the service or getting food.

All in all a good base from which to explore Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panowizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We needed to stay in Glasgow overnight and decided to try the Garden Inn as the price seemed much more reasonable compared to our usual haunts (Glasgow Hilton, George Hotel, Hotel Indigo). The hotel is more of a "budget" Hilton, but does the trick - clean and well presented, nice rooms (if slightly on the small side), comfy beds, good breakfast and added bonus of an iMac in each room, and on-site parking (£5/day). The only real downside is that the bathrooms don't seem to have much in the way of sound-proofing!!
Overall, we had a nice stay and I would certainly consider staying here again, although probably not for a romantic/luxury weekend :)

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyjo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Garden Inn group is a chain of smallish, business class hotels within the Hilton group. The GI Glasgow is located on the river about a 20 min walk from the city centre via a river-side walkway. It has a good open-air carpark and is fairly easy to find from the airport. If you are only staying a short while (as we were) it is very well located, as driving into the city centre would undoubtedly be a challenge!
The hotel itself is well kept, with rooms which are small but perfectly adequate. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is very quiet, assuring a good night's sleep.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the night we were there, as it was raining on our arrival. The food was good and well priced.
Breakfast was good, with a decent selection of both hot and cold options.
All in all, we'd be very happy to stay here again on a short trip to Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKBergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear McKBergin

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our location ideal for your stay in Glasgow.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week on a short break to Glasgow for shopping. It was a lovely hotel, nice location on the Clyde with good view of the bridge. Rooms were very clean, comfy bed and had all you need really (safe in room as well). I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, although wasn't too keen on herb sausages.
All in all good value and good location, especially if your going to the SECC. Only wish I had read some of the reviews beforehand as we were charged £10 for parking even though we stayed 2 nights. Would go back though.

Room Tip: Would recommend river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccahanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear maccahanish

Thank you for your review.

Your kind comments regarding the quality of the hotel are very welcome and thank you for highlighting our friendly staff.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Relatively near the city centre, and ideally placed for the SECC. Rooms are modest in size, but clean and well equipped. Each room comes with an imac computer which provides TV access in addition to internet access. Wifi is free if you bring your own laptop.

Breakfast is average. Some real cheese instead of the plastic wrapped variety would go down a treat, there were no rolls, and the bread was bland.

This hotel does an interesting twist on room service in that there is none, but there is a chilled cabinet of drinks and pre-packed meals such as curry and pasta, along with a microwave, in the reception area, so guests can help themselves 24x7.

My only criticism was the corridor carpets are dirty. (Sorry guys, this dropped you from 5/5 to only 4)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Rickx

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

We always listen to feedback and your comments regarding breakfast will be discussed at our next product review.

As with all Hilton Garden Inn hotels worldwide, room service is available until 10pm, the lobby shop (Pavilion Pantry) has proved to be very popular with guests, in addition to the meals you have highlighted we also offer salads and baguettes that are prepared in the hotel.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#38 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing