We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Glasgow city break especially if going to SECC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Recently booked this hotel when going to see a concert at the SECC. It's a perfect location as only a couple minutes walk away sitting on the River Clyde. The view from the hotel room over looking the Clyde was stunning, especially at night.
We upgraded to the river view package which was well worth it.....only downside is I heard as we were checking out that all the Mint hotels have been bought over by Hilton hotels and they will be changing all the rooms etc in the coming month.....hopefully the hotel wont lose it's charm and the iMacs in the bedrooms!!!!
It was also very close by train into the city centre so an ideal location.
Free parking and free WIFI finished off a great service

Room Tip: Upgrade to the river view package well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for such a positive review.

It is true we are re-branding as Hilton Garden Inn - the two brands are a perfect match as we will continue to focus on our high standards of customer service with the added bonus of additional facilites in the hotel and Hilton Honors loyalty scheme allowing you to build up points for free stays and air miles.

The iMacs in the rooms and complimentary internet access and Wifi throughout the hotel are all staying....

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,111 - 2,117 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

the mint hotel ideal for visiting the ssec, good value for money, they are under gowing re furbishment , it was not inconvenient, in any way.

The staff were friendly and helpful in every way.

We went with friends to the caravan exhibition and had a lovely relaxing two days.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the river, lovely views and at night it is enchanting with all the lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEPPSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mint Hotel Glasgow.

I am glad you had a relaxing stay and that the refurbishment project did not impact you.

It is good to read that the staff were friendly and helpful as we believe it is our staff that set us apart from other hotels.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great view of the river, small room but very well equipped. Got an iMac in the room how brilliant is that!! Free Wi-Fi Free Parking a very cosy hotel. In a great location central to many different restaurants. Only downfall is during the day there are some building works going on that will be competed early Feb to make some new amenities.

Room Tip: View of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ymahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review.

The refurbishment of the bar and restaurant is nearing completion and our new fitness suite will be open by 13th February.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here while attending a show at the SECC. Location is excellent for this and car parking is free in the hotel car park. Our room was on the street side but quiet, might have been nicer overlooking the Clyde. The room was good but unexceptional apart from the free wifi and free use Apple computer which doubles as a TV.
Breakfast service a bit slow and toast was burnt but fresh fruit and pastries also available.
Would recommend this hotel if you are visiting the SECC for convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madame_Ascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mint Hotel Glasgow.

Our location beside the SECC is excellent, giving you the chance to unwind after a concert instead of worrying about how to get home!

I am sorry you had some niggles with breakfast, this should not have happened and has been discussed with the team.

It is good to read that you recommend us and hopefully when you return you will like the improvements we are making.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We chose this hotel as we had tickets for two different concerts in Glasgow on the Saturday and Sunday. We also had had a great time previously at MINT Hotel at Tower London, so we thought we knew what to expect.

We arrived on the Saturday to discover that the MINT Hotel chain has been bought up by the Hilton group and is midway through the changeover to becoming part of its Hilton Garden Inn brand. This meant that the leisure centre was shut for refurbishment, as was the restaurant and we also discovered that room service wasn't 24 hours as originally advertised but closed at 10pm. You'd have thought with so much change going on within the hotel, management might have thought to contact customers ahead of their arrival, and possibly offered a discount to compensate for their inconvenience.

So, bearing in mind that we were already feeling short-changed before we saw our room, you can imagine our disappointment when we opened the door to find a room that was smaller than your average Travelodge room, with a postage stamp sized shower room that had mildew on the grouting, and the room was decidedly cold until we turned the heating up...hardly very welcoming, bearing in mind we paid £119 for the 'privilege'.

We had a drink in the bar on the Saturday night after the concert, but the bar was playing Magic FM (classy!) so we took our drinks back to our room to escape the din of all the radio adverts and DJ chatter. Even the bar staff said it was awful, but it was the best they could provide in terms of background music...

To top it all off, on the SUNDAY morning we were woken by the glorious sound of drilling. So much for the day of rest, then! As a Hilton HHonors customer, I have to say that if Hilton want to make a success of this hotel's rebranding, it needs a lot more than just refurbishment and rebadging!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

As mentioned in the email I sent to you we are undergoing an extensive refurbishment due to be our Hotel being re-branded as a Hilton Garden Inn.

City Cafe was not due to be closed until 6th February however due to reasons out with our control the project was brought forward.

The sound system in the bar has been temporally disconnected due to the works being carried out - I am sorry that the replacement music was not to your taste.

Extensive fitness facilities, including a swimming pool are available for our guests to use at a nearby health club located 200 metres away from the Hotel – this was highlighted in a letter in all the rooms and with signage in the elevators.

There is never a good time for a refurbishment as the Hotel is generally busy however to keep the Hotel in prime condition it is necessary. Some of the changes taking place during this refurbishment include improving our fitness facilities, introduction of a complimentary business centre, convenience shop, complimentary laundry room, and new beds, chairs and carpets in all the rooms.

I hope that you do choose to stay again in the future to see the changes when they are completed.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night as it was handy for going into town. Rooms were bit drab,decorate needs a lift. Food was good and service in the restaurant was excellent both for dinner and the next morning.

Would definetly stay here again, great location for city centre or the SECC.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine1096493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about the quality of food and service in the restaurant both for dinner and breakfast.

Our rooms are in the process of being refurbished – I am sure you will like the changes when you return.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed here twice now for weekend breaks to see my daughter who is at Glasgow Uni.

The rooms are compact & lack baths, but are comfortable with good facilities & the rooms overlooking the river have a great view.

The bar & restaurant are good & the cooked to order breakfast (seems to be only if the hotel isn't busy, otherwise it is a buffet) is good.

There seem to be good offer prices for weekend stays which make this excellent value. Taxis are cheap in Glasgow so the slightly out of town location isn't a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,387 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,375 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $86 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at the newly refurbished Recess, our relaxed bar & restaurant which offers seasonal cuisine prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor River terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing