We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Arran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Very nice hotel, lovely room, quite minimalistic but with everything you could need.

Our room had a lovely view of the river and hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre or about £4 in a taxi.

Nice bar for a drink or two before going to bed.

  • Liked — Lovely view of the river from our room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmilne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    947
    310
    103
    38
See reviews for
261
1,052
133
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

Travelling with my husband and 2 yr old.

When we first arrived at City Inn (after a long days travel and standing at a conference) we were welcomed by great door staff who really helped, carrying bags, holding doors etc. We booked in quite quickly seeing that everyone from the conference had just left SECC (be warned, City Inn is packed when there is an event on, and this causes the problems) and went up to our room, helped again by the wonderful door staff.

I must say, it was clean and tidy. Not child friendly, but we accept that hotel rooms can't be, we have to do the blocking the mini bar, covering power sockets etc.

Trouble started when we went for breakfast the following morning. Obviously a change of staff. We had to wait 10 min just standing and hoping that a waiter would actually acknowledge our looks and "good mornings" we offered, 8 times we were passed without so much as a grunt in our direction. We were informed that they were "too busy to serve breakfast at the moment", only because tables were left dirty and staff couldn't be bothered to clean them, so were asked to wait in the bar until a table was free.

25 minutes passed. Other people who were asked to wait after us were shown to tables before us. My husband had to leave to open his exhibition space before we were placed, so that was the price of his breakfast up our shirt. We were finally placed, and when i asked for a highchair I was REFUSED.

It was a self service style continental buffet, with hot food order. Have you ever tried to take a 2 yr old by the hand, and serve fruit, cereal and toast, with juice etc. The waiters saw that we were struggling, but decided to carry on with their conversation rather than actually help! Because the service had been busy, there was hardly anything edible left (mini pastries had dried out, only brown apple left in fruit salad etc, only grapefruit juice left out) and when i asked for apple juice, I was given such a dirty look!

The hot breakfast was, well, awful. The bacon on my sons breakfast had been shown a heat source, was just a fatty lump, scrambled eggs cold have bounced across the clyde. I have plumped for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs... I have never been served smoked salmon still with most of the skin on! Even the lemon on the side looked sorry for itself! 95% of it was left.

More so, my hubby very kindly took my son for a drink, at 6pm downstairs to let me have a brief rest before dinner. After waiting 15 minutes to be served a drink IN THE BAR, they sat down. He was then approached by the man who served the drinks to be told that children were not allowed in the bar. Now tell me, this guy could see DH had a toddler, could understand that an orange squash was for a child, so why serve him in the first place? We have never been turffed out of a hotel bar, and I have never heard of this not being allowed to have a 2 yr old in a bar at 6pm? So they couldn't relax there, so DH took son out for a walk.

The different door guy actually watched DH struggling with the heavy door, and then steps AS THERE IS NO FLAT ACCESS at the front of the hotel. These are large steps, 3 of them, no proper handrails etc, but with a pram near impossible. Other guests came to his rescue, both in and out of the property, whislt concierge and doorman stood and watched whilst in deep conversation!

Breakfast was the same fiasco, but with two adults so at least we didn't have a toddler either wandering round with hot plates being served, or left alone at the table. At least we were seated straight away, but only because it was later in the morning. Its clear that the restaurant was not built for the numbers which the hotel caters for.

Some staff are just wonderful and brilliant, would go out of their way to help, but others, quite frankly, couldn't give a toss about customer care or looking after guests, paying quite alot for shabby service.

  • Liked — closeness to SECC, decent curry house on opposite corner!
  • Disliked — Not helping those with young children, poor service, VERY bad access problems
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank janie-on-her-hols!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

Pre-Concert Dinning was full and the kitchen collapsed under
the strain. Many went to see James Last having to forego at least
one course. No arguement at checkout and all monies were
refunded.
Shame cause otherwise the Hotel has a lot to recommend it.
Pleasant rooms and breakfast was fine.

  • Liked — Good breakfast
  • Disliked — Dinning Room Chaos
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

The Glasgow City Inn would deserve special mention if its only virtue was the provision of face flannels, which are inexplicably absent from so many British hotels. But that’s only one example of its attention to detail. The elegant swivel plug in the wash basin was another mark of this! Full marks for the iron, bath robe, and CD and DVD players as well.

The rooms are not the biggest but the stylish furnishings and decorations are of an exceptionally high standard for a hotel in this price range. The sound proofing was pretty good too.

I do have a couple of reservations. I was surprised to be asked at check-in whether I wanted a smoking or non-smoking room, as I believe I reserved a non-smoking room when I booked online.

My "summer weekend" booking was inclusive of breakfast. That might be a good deal for those who want something fried or cereal and yoghurt. But if, like me, what you want is coffee and a pastry/muffin it’s money that would be better spent at the nearest Caffe Nero.

The hotel is on the river bank about a mile from Glasgow Central Station. This was once the city’s industrial heart but has been redeveloped with apartment and office blocks, hotels, a conference centre etc. Passenger seaplanes dock a little out on the other side of the river. I had a nice view of the Clyde, though the absence of traffic on what was once a hectic working river is cause for some sadness.

I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Liked — Modern, stylish, quiet, location, views.
  • Disliked — Breakfast!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank donaloge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

My wife and I booked this on last minute.com and there is nothing bad that I can say about this hote. We arrived at 2pm even though we arrange a check in time for 7pm and our room was ready... We got a river side view room which was spacious and modern. Room had flat screen tv (which included sky sports!!) and dvd player.

If you have to get into the city centre there is a free phone in the lobby which to ring a taxi and it only costs about 5 pounds...

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans a trip to Glasgow.

  • Liked — modern clean hotel, next door to SECC
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FlamingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK e Milano, Italia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Plus
~ Modern
~ CD & DVD Playe on soite
~ Free Internet (wired) ( lobby (wifi)
located off city, like Marriott Copenhagen in many ways in terms of location
~ riverside location
Quite!
~ Train service (Exhibition station) 5-7 minute walk (If you've never been to Glasgow before, don't expect the stations other than Central & Queen Street to resemble the Hilton)
~ Vegetarian sausages on menu
~ Professional touch with concierge
~ Weekend special prices

Niggles
~Compact ~ better than small, after all it's not somewhere you spend all day
~ £12 extra for hot food for breakfast ridiculous

4 stars were it not for the fact you had to pay £12 (per room) for hot food per day ontop of the usual buffet (though lacking a little but good fruit) ~ typical for business hotels however a bad practice for non-uisness travellers

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

The rooms are nicely decorated, with all mod-cons, although was slightly disappointed that the flat screen TV was a bit on the small side. Rooms are small, but comfortable, bathroom has a really good shower but no bath.
Free parking is a bonus with city hotels in lots of cases, but it is best part of a 20 minute walk into town - fine if the weather is OK.
We only stayed one night, and only paid about £50, and had no complaints while we were there. On the whole, I'd recommend it if you just need a base in Glasgow, but if you are looking for a place to stay and pamper yourself, this hotel is maybe too business orientated for you.

  • Liked — Room decor
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Keef74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#38 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award-winning hotel, situated on Glasgow’s River Clyde, is just minutes away from the SEC Campus and SSE Hydro. In the heart of Finnieston, we’re perfectly located for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer including shopping, museums, botanic gardens and eclectic nightlife. After a busy day, relax in your contemporary guest room and look out across the riverbank through floor-to-ceiling windows. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi or unwind in front of the 42-inch TV. Enjoy casual dining at our bar & restaurant, offering seasonal menus prepared from locally sourced ingredients. Dine indoors or al fresco on the outdoor terrace, complete with spectacular views of the river and beyond. For those travelling on business, our hotel is within easy reach of the business district. Our flexible meeting rooms are perfect for conferences, meetings or private dinners. Local and national rail networks are within 5 minutes and Glasgow International Airport is only a 15-minute drive away. Keep up your fitness regime during your stay, our high-tech Precor gym is available free of charge, 24-hours a day. Guests can enjoy on-site car parking (fees apply) and bus service picking up from the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing