We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #71 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

overnight with friends in Glasgow. Hotel was ok,looking a little tired but does retain some of the original features of a lovely old building. Breakfast was good service was good, staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have ensuite so choose carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    114
    43
    26
    14
See reviews for
48
93
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Kelvin feels more like a B&B than a Hotel i.e. it is small, no frills but has great personal service. Booked in at the last minute as part of a group of cyclists but the host was extremely accommodating about bike storage, car parking and our general noise and coming and going.

All the rooms were simple but comfortable. Families rooms were huge, standard doubles less so - but all very clean, perfectly adequate and with TV's and kettles. There is limited free parking round the back and the hotel location is perfect for everything the west end has to offer.

Would I choose it for a posh romantic break? No. But for a great value, clean room in the heart of the west end for a group of people or for a longer stay, it is perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms with en-suite were fully booked so we had a shared shower room on the 2nd floor lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBomb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the "small double" room and it was quite tiny. That said, for the price (20 pounds per person per night), it was a deal. The location was excellent, and we were able to walk around the West End and explore without straying far from the hotel. There is also a lounge area to hang out if your room is too tiny. The rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful location right next to the botanical gardens, close to shops, easy parking on the street in a sweet neighborhood. The building is charming and our four person en suite family room had a double bed, two twins and huge windows with great light, very airy and welcoming. Delicious breakfast in a cheery dining room. I wish I could go back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Kelvin is the best experience in Glasgow. The hotel itself boasts a wonderful location (West End), lovely building and comfortable, clean rooms. The breakfast is consistently spectacular! The hotel had a relatively recent change in ownership resulting in a more removed management than with the previous owners and a decrease in housekeeping staff. The carryover from the previous management are the day and night managers, Sandra and Charlie...these are two of the most helpful and accommodating people in the hotel industry in Scotland. They are very hardworking (and have taken up the duties left by less housekeeping staff )and no request is too much bother for them. They each do the job of many people and the owner must realize that guests return for them alone!!! During my stay, they were both off one day and double staff was required to do their job.. I have been to this hotel many times over many years and hope to continue to visit. I have never had anything less than wonderful to say about the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

my first time will not be my last! great location, amazing building and brilliant breakfast. it was an ideal stop over when visiting the museums and absorbing the west end atmosphere. They took care of my luggage as i arrived early, helped with directions, and the room was spotless. I too liked the working shutters on the windows!

Room Tip: I was on top floor, very quiet, my brother has been on 1st floor at back and says the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

helped us out big time when we had been shafted by the botanic hotel for the stone roses gig . total stars and will definetly be heading here again :) missed breakfast though but thats the only negative thing i have to say and this was no fault of the hotels . see you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidansmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
262 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 95 in Glasgow
316 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
788 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Property: Kelvin Hotel
Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing