We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #72 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Room was large, TV was old and didn't work for most of our stay. Breakfast was decent nothing to rave about. Location was good. Just the whole vibe of the place was a little off. not a hotel and not a B&B more feeling of a large dorm or institution. we only stayed a few nights and the staff was never in sight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine32765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    109
    42
    25
    13
See reviews for
47
86
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The host promptly provided a key to our room, asked for a credit card for payment, processed the payment then indicated she just might have a single parking pass left but would have to look for it. When I requested breakfast options for the next morning (early flight out) she informed me the cook does not start until 7:30am and there was coffee and tea in the room (we would have been happy with some fruit and a few biscuits or even some bread and cheese to make a sandwich, nothing fancy), this would have to do, and here is where the bos for the key drop off is before you go. She then disappeared, we parked the car and rang the bell for her, she happened to find another parking pass then quickly disappeared again. We had to drag our luggage up a rather confusing and potentially hazardous few flights of stairs. Room was rather quirky but clean and functional. As far as the make it yourself coffee and tea, there were no utensils in the room. Good thing there was a Waitrose across the street where we were able to purchase a few things. Can't recommend this place, it was a disappointment overall except for it being in a decent location. Dragging suitcases down a couple of flights of stairs early in the morning was quite funny really, the lighting was poor and we ended up setting off the alarms and making a lot of noise. Can't recommend it, please do your research before staying here.

Room Tip: If you are planning on staying here, make sure you're okay with the stairs and if you require a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were looking for a room witn 3 beds for an adult and two children. This hotel has good reviews on this site and offered us the accommodation we needed for one night. We were so disappointed. The room was reasonably clean with staining on the carpet. OK for one night but the smell of stale smoke in the room was overwhelming. The staff were friendly. We had an early departure and they gave us the key to the breakfast room to help ourselves to cereal and fruit. Kind gesture. It's in a agreat location but no reviewer has mentioned the stale smoke. Having travelled I assumed that all hotels were non smoking. We wouldn't go back as we prefer a non smoking environment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Kelvin Hotel for two nights. The location was great, of course the clever subway system in Glasgow made it very easy to get around. The room was clean and served its purpose, the breakfast was substantial, and service was fine. Nothing to write home about, but it was a fantastic value and within walking distance of some of the best establishments in Glasgow.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at the Kelvin Hotel in late-October for two nights on a visit to Glasgow. The room was clean and well-maintained. It included supplies for tea, which I enjoyed after a long day on the bus from Skye. The morning food was quite good and included a hot and very substantial breakfast, cereal, fresh fruit, and breads. The Hotel is located near many attractions, such as the Botanical Gardens and the University of Glasgow. It is a good place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here while on business at the University of Glasgow. The location at the Byres Road/Queen Margaret Drive junction with the Great Western Road is a perfect West End location with lots of cafes and shops in the vicinity and only 5 mins walk from the University. I have stayed twice in this hotel and each experience has been pleasant with a good breakfast. The staff are very pleasant and will do everything they can to make the stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermaid109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We needed a hotel for the family in crntral Glasgow and I found this on Trip Advisor. I rang to book and they were very friendly and accomodated us plus three children. When we got there it was clear there was a mix up and a double booking. However they did not let us down - they had a fantastic flat next door and let us use that! All at a great price. Very good service - I think others would have let us down. Very nice stay and good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Property: Kelvin Hotel
Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing