We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms in a Pleasant Hotel”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #71 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Virginia, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms in a Pleasant Hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at the Kelvin Hotel in late-October for two nights on a visit to Glasgow. The room was clean and well-maintained. It included supplies for tea, which I enjoyed after a long day on the bus from Skye. The morning food was quite good and included a hot and very substantial breakfast, cereal, fresh fruit, and breads. The Hotel is located near many attractions, such as the Botanical Gardens and the University of Glasgow. It is a good place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    114
    43
    26
    14
See reviews for
48
92
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here while on business at the University of Glasgow. The location at the Byres Road/Queen Margaret Drive junction with the Great Western Road is a perfect West End location with lots of cafes and shops in the vicinity and only 5 mins walk from the University. I have stayed twice in this hotel and each experience has been pleasant with a good breakfast. The staff are very pleasant and will do everything they can to make the stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermaid109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We needed a hotel for the family in crntral Glasgow and I found this on Trip Advisor. I rang to book and they were very friendly and accomodated us plus three children. When we got there it was clear there was a mix up and a double booking. However they did not let us down - they had a fantastic flat next door and let us use that! All at a great price. Very good service - I think others would have let us down. Very nice stay and good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from weekend in bonnie scotland. Stayed in Kelvin on saturday night, although room was quite small it was perfectly adequate. very clean and comfy bed. Charlie the do it all guy was very polite and was very responsive to anything we asked. Good for tourist advice. The breakfast was lovely, good portions and roasting hot!! Well done. It is very coinvenient for everything in the west end. Byres road is 3 mins away as is botanic gardens. the subway on byres road is an easy 7 min walk and is as good as any ride in alton towers!!
Lots of great eateries on this road. Ate in Jamies Italian in Georges Square very good and reasonable. Walked to the Comedy Stand about 15 mins away for saturady nights entertainment.
Quick word about taxi to airport - ring one of the numbers - paid £10.50 instead of black taxi £19.90. great city will be back plus back at the Kelvin - thanks Charlie!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyronePartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I got Room 1 in the basement, no lift. Windows next to path to car park. Some biscuits provided and soap bars. Room had a double & single bed. Some water noise & shower doesn't empty fast enough. Friendly staff & good cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pleasant, comfortable hotel. Spotlessly clean, comfy beds, nice breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Rates very reasonable for what you get. Attractive Victorian building. Convenient for buses and subway. Good choice of eateries nearby. Round the corner from the botanic gardens.Absolutely no complaints whatsoever and will use again, although next time I will avoid taking my car(which I didn't need when I got there) as the car park is in the hotel's back yard and only takes about 4 vehicles at a push. There is some on street parking which is free 10pm to 8am, then you have to put money in a meter and you are restricted to 3 hours.

Room Tip: Single rooms without the ensuite are at the front in the basement. Didn't notice traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for just one night before ending our trip to Scotland. The cost for a twin room was £66 for two people for one night. The hotel is set back from the Great Western Road on a tree lined street. We were greeted by Charlie, who was pleasant enough, though we were too early to check in, so decided to go for a wander down the Byres Road. On our return he helped us sort out parking the car ( in the very small car park around back ) and carried our bags to the room, asking if we needed any help with local info. The room was lovely, very clean and spacious, with super comfortable beds and nice sideways view down the Great Western Road if you poked your head out of the sash windows. After a very good nights sleep, possibly aided by a visit to a great pub (Tennants) in Byres Road, we had breakfast in the beautiful Victorian dining room. All long windows, gorgeously gilded mirrors and fancy ceilings. The very overworked lady serving breakfast did a superb job considering she seemed to be doing it single-handed. The food itself was fine, nothing spectacular, just a decent cooked breakfast and good tea. I would stay here again as it's good value for money and in a nice bustling part of Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifleur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
261 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 95 in Glasgow
315 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
784 reviews
Albion Hotel
#59 of 95 in Glasgow
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Property: Kelvin Hotel
Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing