We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taxi driver's recommendation fits the bill”

People's Palace and Winter Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.74*
and up
Glasgow's Must Sees 5-Hour Private Tour
Ranked #23 of 272 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The People's Palace and Winter Gardens, set in historic Glasgow Green, the oldest public space in the city, tells the story of Glasgow and its people from 1750 to the end of the 20th century. Adjacent to the People's Palace is the extravagant and recently restored Doulton Fountain, unveiled in 1888 to commemorate Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Newbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Taxi driver's recommendation fits the bill”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent a morning here and thoroughly enjoyed it. It maps the history of ordinary people living in Glasgow. We spotted lots of things we remember from our own childhood. There is a reconstruction of a typical room lived in by a family in the tenements, and a shop, and the laundry. I found most interesting the video about how a prisoner is prepared for execution. At the time we visited there was an excellent art exhibition of the WW! works on Farrell, Glasgow's own war artist.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    374
    88
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you have a free Hour or Two”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well worth the visit and its all free. The peoples palace will take you back in time and shows how people of Glasgow Lived or survived. Lovely little museum, with some wonderful artifacts and life size representations. Out side the main door is a huge fountain and statue dedicated to Victoria and the empire (currently under renovation). To the rear is the winter gardens with all it exotic Plants and Palms

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Visit”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

People's Palace and Winter Gardens are situated in the lovely Glasgow Green which is a huge park with so much to do.

There is a museum within the peoples palace with a lot of Glasgow History, including Billy Connolleys Banana Boots.

The Winter Gardens are stunning and many a bride has had her picture taken here, there is also a small cafe, which is lovely to sit in and watch the world go by.

The green itself has a lot to offer, there is a cycling area where you can hire bikes of all descriptions and there is a road set out to cycle round.

There is also a play area which is fantastic for little ones with sand to play in.

I would highly recommend a visit to this park it is only a five minute walk from the city centre and well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cloharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

An excellent insight into life in Glasgow when times were hard. Loved the steamie and the single end.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Muriel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have been to several gardens, but this was one of my favourites! It's not too far from the city centre so you can easily make a little stop-over here. If you enjoy flowers, gardens or beautiful places in general you'll love it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed People's Palace and Winter Gardens also viewed

 

Been to People's Palace and Winter Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing