We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!”

People's Palace and Winter Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.79*
and up
Glasgow's Must Sees 5-Hour Private Tour
More Info
$20.26*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$101.28*
and up
Glasgow Bite Size
Ranked #24 of 290 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The People's Palace and Winter Gardens, set in historic Glasgow Green, the oldest public space in the city, tells the story of Glasgow and its people from 1750 to the end of the 20th century. Adjacent to the People's Palace is the extravagant and recently restored Doulton Fountain, unveiled in 1888 to commemorate Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Spent a very interesting few hours at the People's Palace and Winter Gardens with my husband and granddaughter. We hadn't been there for a number of years and we were most impressed with the exhibitions and detailed information of Glasgow's past history. Brought back memories of the 40s and 50s! Lunch in the restaurant was very good and would certainly recommend this to any visitors to the city

1  Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeoplespalace, Administrator at People's Palace and Winter Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Dorothy W,

Many thanks for your very positive review on the People’s Palace and Winter Gardens. It has been an iconic landmark on Glasgow Green since 1898. We do hope that you will visit again in the near future as the museum will be undergoing a phased refurbishment over the next few years and will have new exhibits on display. I will also pass on your kind comments about the restaurant to the catering manager.

Best regards

John Irwin
Administrator
Glasgow Museums

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 770 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just had a really interesting visit to the Peoples Palace.The winter gardens were looking very festive with the planting of masses of red poinsettias and colourful primulas. We were lucky to catch the exhibition of paintings by the Strathclyde later learning club.The standard was very good. The exhibitions on Glasgow life during the wars was very well displayed with voice overs from Glasgow residents. We also enjoyed the exhibition on the Red Road high rise flats which are now mostly demolished. With the problems of high rise living there were also plenty of positive experiences from ex residents.We had lunch in the restaurant which was tasty and a fair price.A good visit for locals and visitors from further afield.

Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeoplespalace, Administrator at People's Palace and Winter Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Sally M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your visit to the People’s Palace and Winter Gardens. The Gardens are a wonderful place to escape Glasgow’s wintery weather as many of the plants within require a tropical climate.

The Red Road Flats exhibition has been well received by visitors and it is a response to the rise and fall of a series of social housing flats that were iconic fixtures on the Glasgow skyline for over 50 years. They were also once Europe’s tallest structures at 89 m or 292 feet.

I will also pass on your kind comments to the Restaurant manager.

Best regards

John Irwin
Administrator
Glasgow Museums

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

a fantastic insight to Glasgow through the last few centuries well worth going to you cant visit Glasgow and not come here you will smile all the way through

Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeoplespalace, Administrator at People's Palace and Winter Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear John B,

Thank you for your kind comments on your visit to the People’s Palace and Winter Gardens.

Our exhibitions cover Glasgow’s wonderful and fascinating history from the 1700’s right through to the present day with our current display on the Red Road Flats.

It is indeed a recommended venue for visitors to the city to understand its amazing heritage and culture.

Best regards

John Irwin
Administrator
Glasgow Museums

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been a frequent visitor to the Winter Gardens for more years than I care to mention. I would meet my late Mother on a Sunday morning with my newly born son who is now 26 years old.
We would meet just as the cafe opened and depart around mid-day just as it got busy.
It was one of the most tranquil places to sit and relax.
Then the vandals fire bombed the place and decimated it. Shortly after this I moved to Dundee.
My daughter has recently relocated to Glasgow to pursue her career.
We visited on Sunday, 10th November and I was amazed and astounded to find it back at it's pristine best.
Congratulations must be given to all the people involved in the years if hard and dedicated work to reverse the damage inflicted on it all these years ago.
My daughter who is Glaswegian by birth and Dundonian by nature - I pass no comment on that potent combination, was amazed at the exhibition within the Peoples Palace.
Again well done all.

Thank Fergie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeoplespalace, Administrator at People's Palace and Winter Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Fergie1948,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your wonderful memories of visiting the People’s Palace and Winter Gardens. You are correct that the Winter Gardens were damaged by fire back in 1998 but as you say they have been superbly restored back to their original condition.

We are also delighted that our exhibitions impressed your daughter and we do hope that your family will return again soon in the near future.

Best regards

John Irwin
Administrator
Glasgow Museums

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have not been here since I was a child with my dad and it was awesome then, plenty of parking, great on a sunny dry day as you can walk around the park as well or bring your bike with you for a cycle! It has been refurbished to a high standard and all tourists should go see this fabulous Glasgow structure .
Oh and the Café food is very good, go for your walk or cycle first because after your bowl of soup you will just want to lounge about in the seats.

Thank ADWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed People's Palace and Winter Gardens also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to People's Palace and Winter Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing