We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

People's Palace and Winter Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.88*
and up
Glasgow's Must Sees 5-Hour Private Tour
Ranked #24 of 270 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The People's Palace and Winter Gardens, set in historic Glasgow Green, the oldest public space in the city, tells the story of Glasgow and its people from 1750 to the end of the 20th century. Adjacent to the People's Palace is the extravagant and recently restored Doulton Fountain, unveiled in 1888 to commemorate Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ballykelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We we t on the city tours bus which I really recommend as you can hop on and off the bus wherever you want. We went to see this beautiful Victorian building with water fountain out the front but the whole buildings history is excellent really recommend

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    369
    86
    22
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,118 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,390 helpful votes
“Great in warm sunny weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

A great attraction especially on a dry warm day. Wander around the gardens, sit on the vast lawns and eat a snack and enjoy walking through the Winter Gardens looking at the very unusual plants.

Lots to do for all the family. Easy access to Byers Road shops, restaurants and the subway station, Hillhead. Regular buses into the City Centre as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay , UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location is superb . The museum is ok but a bit naff. The winter garden is lovely for a stroll around and to sit down and enjoy a coffee and snack.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elsimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Beautiful grounds ,great museum,and the fountain outside is amazing just a I quick bus ride up the hill from downtown .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Appalling Service, Don't Give A Fig About Their Advertised Hours & Feels Unloved”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I visited on a Sunday and after a long walk headed to the People's Palace for a nice place to see and have coffee. We got there at 4.15pm. Sign on door says Cafe, Shop, Museum open until 5pm. We went in to be faced with a scruffy cafe and a handwritten sign at counter saying closed. The ladies were preoccupied with closing up and cashing up. We asked if there was anyway that we could have just a cup of tea, to be told no. We queried the opening hours to be told 'I know it's awful isn't it but we're closing up' - that's Glasgow logic? We filled out a feedback from which says on it we will reply within 12 days.......two months later and a big fat silence. I was shocked by how shabby the interior looked - rubbish on the floor, no sense of cohesion and terrible service. Don't go. It's so disappointing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brucecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed People's Palace and Winter Gardens also viewed

 

Been to People's Palace and Winter Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing