We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families or anyone who likes classic cars and trains”

The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$84.08*
and up
Glasgow's West End Private Tour
Ranked #2 of 274 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 2013 Winner of the European Museum of the Year. Highlights include steam trains, Glasgow trams and trolley buses, vintage cars, motorbikes and cycles including possibly the worlds oldest bicycle. There is also a Glasgow street with shops, subway station and pub. Guided tours available.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for families or anyone who likes classic cars and trains”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Glasgow's Transport Museum is full from top to bottom with engaging and exciting displays of classic cars, locomotives, trolleys, interactive video displays, and so many machines and exhibits to interest both adults and children, it is a sure-fire way to both learn and play for everyone. There real subway cars you, and the kids, can "board" and a costumed "ticket taker" [just like the ones in Thomas Train videos] will tell you about the early subways in Scotland. On several floors, every exhibit is well-spaced and well-paced, with lots of room for everyone to stop and relax when needed. A 'street of yesteryear' is perfectly recreated, with shops, trolleys, and businesses, which can all be entered and explored, even the telephone office. The cafe has good, inexpensive food for all ages. I recommend this museum for anyone visiting Glasgow.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,960
    1,621
    478
    172
    111
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent an afternoon at this wonderful museum and it was free. They had vintage trolley cars, motor cycles with side cars and numerous vehicles that were displayed on shelves on the wall. i have never seen this done before. It was a true steep back in time. the museum had something for kids and adults alike. i would say if you like motorized vehicles this would be a great museum to take a look at. The outside of the museum is very unusual looking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great place for the family. It's all interactive, bright and light. Excellent for any age group. Cafe is also great value for money and has the best chips that I've had in years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mireille16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really well designed”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited this with my wife and 2 children (9 and 7). I had low expectations as I'd been to the old transport museum which was not up to much, and thought the exhibits had just been moved. This wasn't the case and there was plenty to interest the children with well though out displays and interactive screens. It seemed a bit more than just a transport museum, especially the old city street which was quite atmospheric. Nice to see a museum where the gift shop is not on the main route through and the fact it is free is a big bonus. Certainly worth a couple of hours. Byres Road is nearby with a great selection of cafes and restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great way to spend half a day”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very good museum full of wonderful exhibits very well displayed. There are all forms of transport but the main exhibits are trains, trams, cars and ships. The exhibits are arranged in different orientations to demonstrate some aspect of the vehicle's uniqueness. There is also a short street of shops and a pub which is very atmospheric. I think it is the lighting levels but whatever it is the overall effect is very calming. There are also exhibits of bicycles, motorbikes, engines and a lot of information regarding Glasgow's engineering heritage. Lastly there is a clipper ship tied up alongside for which you have to pay a charge. All exhibits are in great condition.
I marked it 4 out of 5 only because I would prefer it if like exhibits were shown together whereas in this museum they are mixed up. If the scale was further divided i would probably give it 4.5 out of 5.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dsweddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel also viewed

 

Been to The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing