We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time traveller, visit here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitchell Library

Mitchell Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.77*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #36 of 268 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Time traveller, visit here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful building, great selection of books, always interesting small exhibitions, interesting people go there too!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomadGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    90
    12
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Searching for ancestors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Found staff most helpful from the man at front door to the ladies upstairs great service ,very comfortable could have stayed much longer had not been in Mitchell since my student days in the early sixties

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Librarians rock!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

the older parts of the building especially the interior ceiling in the great room are stunning. librarians doreen, hazel and alice went out of their way to ensure that my visit to the library was productive - thank you ladies - and i had internet access, which helped me with my research.

i also visited the puppet exhibit - the world through wooden eyes - on at the library, and stephen took the time to show me around and explain the ins and outs of puppetry. all in all, i was made to feel very welcome.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank artstung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
142 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“library”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

it is OK if you wanna read or use internet, great selection and good location. the building look nice in dark

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
341 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A Very Impressive Library”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

There's so much magnificent architecture in Glasgow and-if it wasn't for the dratted roads and the fast drivers- there's so much more to see by looking up at their rooves with all the great toppings and towers.
The inside of The Mitchell is a revelation and I have to go back to spend more time, browsing and brooding over a cup of their excellent coffee in the cafe.
There are photographs on the wooden panelled walls, of the day the foundation stone was laid (all those gents with their tashes/ all those ladies with their hats/ all those inner lives, now forgotten!)
I could have stood, looking at those all day, composing stories.
There was even a photograph of that busy philantrophist, Andrew Carnegie- with the best tash of all.
So many who love to learn have passed through its doors that I'm sure a book could/should have been written about it.
I have been connected to libraries since I was knee high to a grasshopper but the discovery of The Mitchell has been a joy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Library also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing