We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of IMAX Theatre

IMAX Theatre
Ranked #12 of 50 Fun & Games in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Imax Theatre next to the Science Centre houses one of the world's largest cinema screens and is a popular venue for 3D movies.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've just been to see Gravity here in Glorious Imax 3d & it was just incredible. This cinema was made for a film like this so if you get the chance, take it. Seems expensive but it's really only a few pounds more than a regular cinema but it's just WOW!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonnieGaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    45
    19
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best cinema experience in Glasgow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I AMA. Frequent visitor to the IMAX in Glasgow, it is by far the best cinema experience the city has to offer. The screen is the largest with excellent picture and sound quality. The whole experience is very immersive and one can really loose themselves in the film!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gafferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best time ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My first time great experience the screen is so big I will be going back again and the sound is out of this world

Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sometimes bigger is better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I visited the Glasgow IMAX for the first time since it was taken over by Cineworld, having read from reviews of "Gravity" that the movie lended itself to 3D IMAX. Easy access, situated next to the Science Centre with plenty of car parking. The cinema is comfortable, a Starbucks in the foyer with the usual cinema style snack counter. Large seats with plenty of legroom and all giving a great view of the huge screen. The sound and projection systems are excellent and really contributed to what was an immersive experience.

At £12.20 a ticket (10% discount if you register and book online ) and a £3 adder for the car park it's not cheap, but for the right movie it's a price worth paying.

My only real gripe is the duration of the ads and trailers prior to the movie; a full 30 minutes being a bit excessive, but I did like the "personal" introduction to the movie as announced by a member of staff.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kezzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This has just been relaunched with Cineworld openin opening of the new IMAX at the Glasgow Science Centre on Friday 18th October.
The renovated IMAX cinema feature IMAX’s proprietary, state-of-the-art digital projection system that delivers lifelike, crystal-clear images, and is the biggest cinema screen in Scotland. The new digital IMAX projection system enables more IMAX movies to be screened at the venue. I have just seen 'Gravity' at the launch screening and I think it is the only way to see this amazing film. I felt like I was in space with Sandra Bullock and George Cloony for the 90 minutes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IMAX Theatre also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to IMAX Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing