We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 3D movie experience”
Review of IMAX Theatre

IMAX Theatre
Ranked #12 of 54 Fun & Games in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Imax Theatre next to the Science Centre houses one of the world's largest cinema screens and is a popular venue for 3D movies.
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best 3D movie experience”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Watched Star Trek: Into Darkness and the Imax 3D experience is incredible! I have never been really impressed with 3D movies until now. The images really felt like they were inches in front of me and I could reach out and touch them. There are times when there is a blurry effect when going between shots. But overall it was great. This Imax theater was clean with friendly and helpful staff. It has enough parking so that I did not have to worry about that. I was glad to pay the parking fee just for that piece of mind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    19
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Expereince Poor Food”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Enjoyed the movie, IMA has a great screen , great picture and great sound ............. shame about the food though all juice in bottles no buttered popcorn and limited snacks i wasnt overly impressed by this.
Compared to other cinemas in Glasgow its is probably the best to watch a movie but amongst the worse selection of food there... but overall if you havent been you need to try it ( bring your own food though lol just kidding )

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craigy690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The place to see a film on the BIG screen”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Was along to see the new Star Trek film #intodarkness

The tickets were almost half the price of the London IMAX cinema - with a smaller audience and a screen thats only 1m smaller - so a good value cinema visit in that regard.

The only downside is you can't prebook your seat - we went at 8.30 for a 9.15 seat and were about the middle of the queue.

At the moment they are showing films on the proper 70mm IMAX format - later this year Cineworld will take over the running in the evenings - an are investing in the new digital projectors - which is a retrograde step. However they do promise seat booking - so you'll not have to waste time in the queue.

If you want to see a film in the best possible way I don't think there can be a better way in Soctland.

Parking can be a bit of an issue - its a science centre.... use you head and if you park furthest from the centre you'll get out much quicker...!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnappySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“scene it, done it”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Brilliant size screenand clear as crystal picture but as usual overpriced, why why why do they price things out of reach for the average family, not good value for money

Helpful?
Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent film think the projector needed clean”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a fab day out to Imax to see Star Trek into darkness which was fab. However anytime there was a bright scene on the screen we could see what looked like little hairs on the screen. Quite distracting! Also cinema quite hot

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EBECKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IMAX Theatre also viewed

 

Been to IMAX Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing