We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmwood House

Holmwood House
Ranked #86 of 268 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whittlesey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

A very worthwhile visit, a lovely house with some very special touches of history. What made the visit special was the most friendliest staff we have ever come across at a NTS property. They were all so enthusiastic, it was a joy to listen to them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Webwitch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Would recommend a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Holmwood is a peaceful haven we hadn't expected to find so close to the traffic and bizz on the outskirts of Glasgow. The house itself is beautifully designed and staff have done a brilliant job so far in revealing sections of hand-painted stenciling on some walls. The Minton flooring is gorgeous. We were shown round by David; a very informative, interesting and enthusiastic volunteer guide. The tearoom could do with some improvement in terms of food choices and decor more in keeping with the house, but overall Holmwood was well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KLG1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful place tucked away at the bottom of Linn Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a truly beautiful building with a special atmosphere and a dedicated bunch of people working away to bring it back to it's full glory.

There's lovely grounds outside and a nice tea room inside - there's also a separate house that you can hire for the weekend and a well run fruit and vegetable garden

There's good parking and you are only 10 mins walk from Linn Park so you can make it a full day out.

Look out for the regular events at Easter, Summer, Halloween and Christmas too.

We liked the place so much that we got married there and Cath and Jim couldn't have done more to make sure out big day went perfectly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent example of Greek's architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing example of Alexander Greek Thompson's work. The detail in the building is outstanding. The National Trust for Scotland are doing a brilliant job of restoring the interior. The staff are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilstonTravellers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Worth another visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Even using the Postcode given in the SNT's official app our Sat Nav had a problem finding it and we eventually had to ask a local householder to direct us. As we entered the premises we heard the joyous laughter of children who had made three scarecrows in the garden and it soon became obvious that the House and its environs are family friendly. The staff were very welcoming and after the initial "briefing" we explored at our own pace. The diningroom is of typical "Greek" Thompson design and there is an excellent folder explaining the various drawings of Greek mythology on the surrounding frieze. There is still much to be done restoring the house but given the enththusiasm of the staff they deserve as much support as possible. Before we left we had 5 cups of excellent coffee out of a cafetiere for a very reasonable £4.50.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmwood House also viewed

 

Been to Holmwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing