We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nectar of the Gods”

Glengoyne Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.75*
and up
Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 21 Food & Drink in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Often described as "Scotland's Most Beautiful Distillery", Glengoyne is open all year for guided distillery tours, whisky tastings and special events. Just a short drive from Glasgow, Stirling and Loch Lomond, this traditional, hard working distillery has been flourishing since 1833. Glengoyne's range of in-depth distillery tours, whisky tasting sessions, private dining and unique hospitality includes the legendary Master Blender tour where guests create their very own individual whisky to take home.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nectar of the Gods”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Glengoyne with an excursion from a cruise ship that docked at Greenock. On arrival the bus load of people was divided into workable tour groups. We were fortunate to have Arthur as our guide - he's the best!!

The pride of the staff in what they produce was obvious. Starting with a glass of 12 year old whisky we watched a video that talked about the distillery. Then toured the facility and finished up with a glass of 18 year old - where Arthur explained where a dash of water truly brings out the taste - and the store.

We managed to get a bottle of 15 year old home undamaged by the airlines so will continue to enjoy Glengoyne until the next trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    242
    34
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nellysford, VA
Level Contributor
424 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Interesting distillery”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You can learn a lot about Scottish whisky from a tour of the distillery. Clearly the staff take pride in their craft. We took home lots of small bottles to share with loved ones. The distillery is nestled in some gorgeous countryside, so the trip out is very pleasant. A small nip is included in the price of the tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
249 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The most beautiful distillery in Scotland offering the best Single Malt whiskey in the world. I should know as I have visited almost all single malt distilleries in Scotland. Great tour and very hospitable staff. Take your time tasting the whisky!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whisky on my doorstep”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Living away from Scotland for many years I became more patriotic about all things Scottish including whisky, now living only 5 miles from Glengoyne and with a flurry of international visitors arriving at my door, I delight in taking them to the picture postcard Glengoyne Distillery. There is no need to book for the basic tour as a tour is always leaving on the hour or if there is an influx of visitors they will slot in an extra tour. The staff are all knowledgeable and passionate about whisky the tour starts with a small video and a dram and then follows the whole distilling process. The basic tours represent excellent value at 7.50 and 10 and for visitors who want to experience more there are whisky and chocolate paring or blending sessionsto be enjoyed see the website for all the details. By the time you reach the well stocked gift shop selling some exclusive whisky you are ready and willing to buy.

I am looking forward to my next visitors so that I can visit Glengoyne again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dawninwarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
301 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We rode the #10 public bus to the distillery, it took about 45 minutes. The distillery is in a beautiful area north of Glasgow. We did a tasting for 20 pounds and was able to taste the 10 yr, 15yr and 18 yr whiskey. The guide was very knowledgeable and did a good job explaining the process. It was the best whiskey tour we took.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pasherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glengoyne Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Glengoyne Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing