We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning building”
Review of City Chambers

City Chambers
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.79*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #17 of 272 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Inaugurated by Queen Victoria in 1888, Glasgow City Chambers dominates George Square and is currently home to Glasgow City Council. The grand marble staircase and banqueting hall are among the building's many highlights. Free guided tours are conducted at 10:30am and 2:30pm on weekdays except public holidays and special events.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning building”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We visited the city chambers and took advantage of a free guided tour (10.30 and 14.30) to allow us to see more of this fabulous building. The tour took approx 1 hour and was very worthwhile. The building is as impressive inside as it is outside and the knowledge of the guide was comprehensive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank passepartout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    219
    29
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Architecture”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I had a good look round these chambers it had the most glorious architecture and statues I took lots of pictures, and will upload them on here soon, the colours were fantastic an ivory and rustic browns and beautiful bronze. The stairwell was something else so were the balconies and doorways..a lovely experience of old and beautiful architecture

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 983joans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Glasgow has SO many beautiful buildings. Sadly for a time a while back they pulled down many magnificent ones for replacement by modern monstrosities!! Fortunately the City Chambers were never in danger and visitors should visit this lovely building right in the very centre of this fabulous City.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Missteri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,036 reviews
882 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“SEE ITS INSIDE NEXT VISIT!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

On May 4, 2014 (Sunday) I took a train from Edinburgh to visit Glasgow (1 day out of my 4 weeks visit of various cities of Great Britain). The very first attraction I saw when I got out of the Train Station is the Park and its Statues as well as the City Chambers Building.

Though I was unable to visit and see the insides of the Building (closed on Sunday), I noted several activities happening near its location: March against Cancer where about 4000 women wearing pink attires participated, another protest march later during the day, and filming of a TV show right in front of the City Chambers Building.

I would definitely visit Glasgow again. This time, I would plan to be there on weekdays to visit the City Chambers Building plus its other attractions that I was unable to see on May 4, 2014.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gorgeous inside and out”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

One of the many fine examples of Victorian architecture in Glasgow. The building is beautifully maintained inside and out. The Italian marble stair case is simply stunning. well worth a visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElainePaul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Chambers also viewed

 

Been to City Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing