We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on Saturday 20th October 2012. The hotel is in a brilliant location on a quiet street in Merchant City just a short walk from Central station. We received a warm welcome at check in & vouchers for free whiskey in the bar. There were 6 floors (although i think the top is a penthouse suite) with 5 rooms on each floor. Corridors are narrow but the rooms were nice & well presented with a lovely shower / bath. Room 305 had a view of a wall but that didn't bother us. It is really handy for all the great pubs, restaurants & shops in Glasgow. We went for a night out & returned at 1am & the hotel bar was buzzing with a good atmosphere & there was a club in the basement which went on to 4am but we didn't hear it from our room at all. Staff were brilliant in the bar & we loved our drinks there before bed. Slept great in the double bed. Breakfast was fab. Lovely cold meat, cheese, tomato, cucumber, rolls croissants, tea, coffee & fruit juice. Staff were again brilliant. We were sorry to leave but again the check out staff was great. We can fully recommend the Brunswick & will definitely stay here again. The best asset of the hotel is the staff. Everyone of them are FANTASTIC

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neillybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    121
    67
    61
    65
See reviews for
34
177
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We go every weekend so glad we have found this place. It's like no other place in Glasgow, the owners are so friendly will do everything to make sure you have the best time. Ann Marie the chef is just amazing all freshly cooked food especially the brutti bread

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

First visted in August 2011 turned up late at night after having difficulty getting booked in anywhere due to the annual international bagpipes festival....really felt welcome from the start, staff/owners went out of their way to inform us about so much local stuff which we visited over the next four days and they secured our bikes in the stock room whilst we explored the great city. We loved the variety of hands on support the owners give to the community encouraging and enabling many to support good causes....The Hotel staff are first class and very friendly. We revisted in March 2012 and received a lovely welcome like old friends!!!!!!!!! Our first visit was a result of doing a charity cycle from Brighton to Glasgow for a charity called Mary's Meals(Mary's Meals feeds children in 16 of the worlds poorest countries in a child's place of education...It cost just £7 to feed a child in Malawi for a whole school year check out their website PLEASE!!! you will be amazed it started off in October 2002 and today is responsible for over 600,000 children fed on a daily basis :)) My 11 year old son and I started off cycling with camping gear and ended up in the Brunswick spacious Penthouse :) on completion of our adventure!!!!!!!! You get what you pay for the other rooms are not spacious but if you just want a safe clean bed for the night in a welcoming atmosphere in an amazingly central location. The Brunswick may suit you.
The breakfast was good and restaurant food fantastic :)

Looking forward to returning for a night in November 2012 :)

Room Tip: Save and aim for the penthouse! well worth it :) would love to re-visit that one day :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

my bridesmaid bookes me in here for my hen night as the club we were going to was just around the corner. its an amazing location for bars and clubs but please remember thiz means the revellers CAN be heard loud and clear. i was in early but no sleep for me. to make it worse the hotel has a club directly underneath it. great. not. the entrance is not well signed and reception is tiny. hall are painted like a brothel in dark seedy red and navy blue. we got to our room and openes the door to trip over the bed. the room was soo small there was only room for a bed and you had to walk side ways around it! we reckoned iy was about 6 foot by 8 foot, based on knowing my brideamaid is 6 foot 4"! the bathroom was beyond small. said bridsmaid had the crouch over to fit in! sink so small with large shelf above it made it usless for anything other than hand washing. bed was tereible. would have been comfier sleeping on the pavement. Breakfast was a joke. pre packed breads and cold snacks. coffee was decent tho. The one thing that stopped ua being really annoyed as itbwas more expensive than other central chain hotels is that it was clean! sheets were crisp white, bathroom was spotless, even grout in the shower was bright white. Staff were very friendly but if you need water for the room ask for a jug or you only get one glass! all in all, i didnt sleep because of people on the street not the hotels fault, its fine if all you need is a bed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaanna83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have to be honest and say this establishment invoked very mixed feelings in both my partner and I. The staff are, frankly, excellent; both helpful and friendly. The food in the bar is great, and the breakfast is not only terrific value for money (or not as I believe it's free) but provides a good selection and is fresh. The problem is the cleanliness and decor.

Let's get one thing out of the way: whilst the colours of the corridors are not to everyones' taste, that's not the issue. They are pretty dirty. The rooms are compact - but you are told this. Problem? Again they're dirty, and in genuine need of a refurbishment. Please see the attached pictures. The light cords pictured show the amount of dirt lingering as they should be white! The bathroom tiling was very ropey, and the pictures don't do the filth justice.

I didn't complain at the time of my stay as to be honest what could the staff have done? A 60 Minute Makeover? Doubtful. The other problem is there appears to be no service entrance meaning the 08:15 drinks delivery interrupted the last hour of our sleep. We would happily stay again, if and when the hotel is refurbished. Thanks to the staff though for making our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Floyd311279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Brunswick hotel

I stayed in the Brunswick hotel with my husband in Aug 2012.  Unless you are a 20-something single backpacker, do not stay here.  Only string points are good location and friendly staff in restaurant and the good location. Problems include:
Tiny or wee rooms as the Scots would say.  
Nightclub on ground zero that blasts loud music until after 2 AM.
Light that shines into the room until after midnight.
Noise from other guests and staff banging doors in the wee hours of the morning.
Extreme heat in room even on 4th floor. No way to get any fresh air because the window only opens a crack.
Dinner at the restaurant called Brutti ma Buoni, which is also the nightclub on ground zero, plays painfully loud music.  I ordered tapas and received something that resembled a bland pizza with potato slices.  The free continental breakfast the next morning was had nothing to recommend it.  Wait staff were very friendly though.
Had we not pre-paid the room we would have left it upon sight.  It ranks as one if the two worst places I've ever stayed at.
Walk on by......

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraAGlyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Three of us stayed in this fun, reasonably priced hotel for 4 nights. We are senior women and found it perfectly fine for us. Granted the rooms are on the small side but are very clean and the beds comfortable. It is located in Merchant City - the best area in Glasgow.
Breakfast is served in the attached restaurant and bar. Hallways are painted in dark colours and are lit by motion lights. There are lots of stairs but also an elevator. The hotel is non-smoking but some of the guests couldn't or didn't read the signs. Lots of entertainment (inside and outside) was going on when we were there and Brunswick Street was closed off to traffic. We were not bothered at all by noise and found the whole atmosphere enjoyable.
The staff are great - very friendly and helpful.
Many good restaurants are nearby and there is great shopping on nearby streets.
Glasgow is a rejuvenated city. Its architecture is fabulous and art museums abound.
For first time visitors I would recommend taking a bus tour which allows you to get off and on at will and the reasonably priced ticket is good for 2 consecutive days.
I will definitely stay at the Brunswick hotel the next time I visit Glasgow.
Judybee

Room Tip: rooms not facing Brunswick street are quieter but the view isn't as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judybee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#85 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#51 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 106-108 Brunswick Street | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing