We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Good value and convenient location (Charing Cross station very close). Checking in and out was very quick and straightforward. Rooms fairly small but had all the basics well covered and beds were comfortable. Breakfasts were reasonable - normal choice but sausages looked very under cooked. Coffee was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WymeswoldOFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a typical example of a 1970's office block where they have shoe horned too many rooms into office spaces. Reception is cramped and dull and that is the picture throughout. The restaurant is a shabby staff canteen. Come on premier inn this is terrible. My room was a triangle shape. The bed head was against the obscure angled wall leaving about12 inches to squeeze past the bottom of the bed in order to get to the wardrobe. The walls are so thin that the fog horn snoring person in the room next door kept me awake. I put my ipod on to try and drown out his noise and could still hear him over the music. I would not stay hear again if it were the last hotel in Glasgow. Nice touch with the lap dancing club outside the entrance. Seedy grot hole.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andypippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that you were dissappointed with your stay and the hotel, mainly in terms of the actual building. Our hotel is a little off model to the standard purpose built Premier Inn, this being due to being an old office block as you state. For this reason we do have different shaped bedrooms at this hotel and I am sorry that the set up of the room did not fit in with your needs.

The surrounding area to our hotel does have a variety of businesses and we work closely together to keep as safe and clean an environment possible for all our customers and the passing public. I have to say that this club has never brought any trouble over the years they have operated alongside our hotel.

I am sorry to see that your sleep was disturbed due to noise from another bedroom, we do try our best to ensure that every guest has a great nights sleep no matter what the issue.

Please note I will be happy take your feedback on board and pass on to the relevant people at Premier Inn's Property Team. I hope you managed to speak with someone regarding your issue during your stay and if you would like me to look any further in to this for you please feel free to get in contact with your Reservation details.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

bit disappointed with this particular hotel after stopping in a recent premier inn in Manchester and having a good night the one in Glasgow was a bit shabby, I had a twin room with single beds which were not very comfy, the noise from the room next door didn't help with my stay, the restaurant was good and the food was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squawking44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as your recent visit to one of our other hotels. Our hotel is one of the older sites in the city and we are currently working on plans of dealing with all feedback we receive from guests. I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by the bed comfort and noise from another room, hopefully you managed to let our Nights Team know about the noise and they managed to resolve this for you.

It's nice to see you has a good visit to our restaurant and that you scored us high on the service measure of your review. Thank you for this.

If you would like me to look further in to this for you please feel free to get in touch with your reservation details.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have alwys been completely satisfied with the accommodation provided by Premier Inn Hotels. We were not disappointed this time. We stayed for three nights, starting on Friday 14 March 2014. The people on Reception were exceptional. Very welcoming, eager to help and never impatient with our most trivial requests. The breakfast available was excellent and the one evening meal we ate on Sunday 16 March was delicious. I would always recommend staying at a Premier Inn Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golden187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this from all aspects of your visit with Reception, Dinner and Breakfast - the Team will be delighted to hear this! We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn on your next visit to Glasgow.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Clean and modern rooms, a bit small but all you need for a short stay. Very close to the SECC. No noise from outside, polite and helpful staff pub across the way nice for breakfast. Handy for bars and pubs


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our rooms to be clean and the location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great for getting to shops walking distance for everything nightlight just up around corner and shops 10 min walk away. Great hotel quite even although it's city centre. Friendly staff great food clean

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks for your review regarding Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations. Thanks for the great ratings and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel clean and room in good condition. and staff very friendly and helpful. I cannot fault the premier unn. Have stayed in a fair few and have never been disappointed. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We are delighted that your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests in all our hotels. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to deliver the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.... hope your Hen Weekend was memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $59 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing