We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Armoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just back from a three night stay in Glasgow, picked this hotel because of its proximity to Sauchiehall street and it did not disappoint. Our room was on the 12th floor with great views over the city. About a 10-15 minute dander from the shops and Buchanan Galleries shopping centre. Didn't eat or drink in this hotel but can definitely recommend Yates' and Wetherspoons which are both just a few minutes walk away. Room cleaned and towels changed every day which is unusual for a hotel this size!
Will definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for your review of Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It is great that our clean hotel and great location met your expectations and giving great value. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we are delighted to hear that you will definitely be returning to us on your next visit to Glasgow - we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    781
    388
    146
    86
See reviews for
445
695
172
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on business in Glasgow. I thought the location was great as it was close to Sauchiehall Street, which has a large selection of bars and restaurants to choose from. Plus, because it's near the theatre, a lot of them have pre and post theatre menus which make it quite cheap if you are on a budget too.
As for the hotel itself, the reception staff were very nice and helpful and my room was very good. An average size with good, clean bedding, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer. The bathroom was clean and modern and the shower was pretty good and powerful.
One of the things I liked best about the room was that I had a choice of pillows. There were two on the bed that were firm, but there was a note saying if you prefer softer pillows, they were in the wardrobe. For a hotel that cost only £60 a night, I thought this was a nice touch.
I tried the breakfast at the hotel on my last day and again, I was impressed by the selection. For £8 you had a choice of cereals, pastries and toast, boiled and fried eggs, mushrooms, beans, bacon, sausage etc and a choice of juices. Good value especially if you're hungry as you can eat as much as you like. If you want something a bit quicker, there's a little sandwich shop just across from the hotel which sells sausage sandwiches for only £1.50.
The hotel is right above Charing Cross station which is very handy if you are wanting to travel out of the city, and taxi's to central station were about £6.
Overall I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely consider staying there again if I was returning to Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for your review regarding Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations. We are happy to hear that you also liked the choice of pillows we offer our guests and that you were impressed with our 'all you can eat' buffet breakfast. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great to hear you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Glasgow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited for 2 nights which was a great price, clean and tidy. The staff were very polite and helpful. Lovely food and drinks at the bar and restaurant. Cheap parking for 2 days behind the hotel was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyJH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. It really matters to us that you enjoy every aspect of your stay from the room, to the food and to the service. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Glasgow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just back from a long weekend in Glasgow for the good food show and the MOBO awards. We were a bit dubious when we first arrived and noticed how close to the train station it is (right next door) but we we needn't have been as we didn't hear much apart from the odd rumble of a train every now and again. We didn't have the greatest view, we could see right into the offices across the street but as we weren't in our room much as we had a full weekend it wasn't to bad. Very friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was great, we went just after 8.30 and got a table straight away but it was still quite busy. We also ate dinner twice in the hotel, both times were lovely but we didn't realise you had to book the restaurant, we didn't have long to wait for a table and had a drink in the bar while waiting. Secc is about 20/30 mins walk from hotel but there is a small train station about 10 mins walk which takes you direct to the 1 at the secc.Not far from main shops either. We would definitely use this hotel again if we are coming down for another event at secc and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindalamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. We are really glad to hear that we helped to make your weekend away a memorable one with friendly service and a several pleasant visits to our restaurant and bar area, the Team are happy to receive your feedback.

It's great to see that you found our location convenient and even better to read that you will choose us again and be happy to recommend us to your friends. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel has only opened one year and is excellent throughout. Great area for shops theatres etc. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. Quiet hotel with very little noise we were in room 1602 and its high enough to be away from traffic noise. Problem with heating when we arrived but it was sorted out very quickly. Rooms are a good standard , nice bathroom with a lovely big bath. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Higher up the better free from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 94caley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times and always excellent but not so this time . We had a very small corner room on the second floor which was looked into by the office on the other side. Room temp seemed variable between hot and cold and air con was very noisy, breakfast was good as ever

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrycharleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write another review on your most recent stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that all our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I am sorry to hear that this visit was not as good as your last one earlier in the year when you were enroute to Ireland.

It's good to hear that you had another enjoyable breakfast and I hope that you managed to speak with our Team regards to your recent stay and any issues you may have had. If not then please fell free to get in contact where I will be happy to look further in to this for you.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcharingcross@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Nicely positioned for the theatre and other venues and close to the station being next door. My view of Glasgow was very good from the 12th floor too...However, getting to and from the hotel by car can be very busy due to the location...although the car park next door is reasonable at £2 for the whole night...
For an overnight stay close to events...not too bad at all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing