We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to M8 & airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

As you may know, Glasgow not the prettiest city to visit but this hotel a good stop the night before or after a flight. Kelvingrove Museum best museum in country.

They are one block from M8 ramp which goes to both airports. Restaurant/bar on site reasonable with pizza, snacks, etc. (open after 5 pm). We left before breakfast buffet & they were kind enough to provide a boxed lunch (eat before security scanners !)

Cash payment machines out of order at adjacent garage where we thought our room included free parking...so ..we lost time in AM getting out. No free parking for hotel as advertised-just discounted!

Allow the 3 hrs early for international flights as the lines are very long and they leave 'no stone or tweezer unturned' when scanning carry on bags.

Hotel one block from the theatre district ..lots of bars & restaurants but a bit far from city center.

Cheerio!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are delighted that your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn met your expectations. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us and we will be sure to look into parking notices on all our selling websites for our hotels to ensure they read correctly. We do look forward to hopefully welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,487 - 1,493 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel (2nd to morning of 5th Sept 2013) in a twin room. The facilities were very basic and very clean. I chose the hotel because of its location. One can walk to the City Centre and also to most areas of the West End. Visiting Glasgow was trip down memory lane for me as I have spent many months over the years in the town, but had not been back for 6 years. On one of my visits I spent 2 months in this Premier Inn, and the upgrade is very noticeable.
The full breakfast buffet provides many options, including options for vegetarians.
The room, though facing the motorway was soundproof and had a lovely view towards Kelvingrove.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for your review of Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. So glad you found our location so convenient for your visit and that you had a great breakfast to start off your day. We also agree the views are spectacular of the city from our rooms higher up in the building, feel free to call us in advance on your next visit where we will do our best to allocate you a room of your choice. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Glasgow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Premier Inn does what it says on the tin; clean room, be, en-suite. What makes this Premier Inn fab is the staff. Whenever I stay they are more than willing to check you in early if there is a room available (one time I checked in at 10am!!!) or keep your bags secure if you want to go shopping and are not travelling immediately.

The hotel is smack bang in the centre of Glasgow. There are lots of pubs, shops and restaurants close by to cater for all tastes.

Directly under the hotel is a low-level train station, meaning you are never more the 3 minutes away from the main train stations (Queen Street and Central).

This hotel is ideal for a 1/2 night stay as a central location to explore Glasgow from.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more chance of you seeing the statues on top of all the city's old bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerpearldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thanks for your review of Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed overnight on Saturday, 7 September with friends. Prices very competitive. Booked twin rooms, which were spacious enough for an overnight stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bedding spotless, bathroom clean, towels soft and fresh, shower powerful and hot water plentiful. Location fantastic for King's Theatre. Only a short walk to main shops. We didn't book breakfast. Staff at reception friendly and informative. If you're looking for somewhere reasonably priced to lay your head on a clean pillow then I would recommend trying this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We are delighted that your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to deliver the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked this purely off TripAdvisor reviews. I was in Glasgow only for the evening so didn't want to spend too much on a room. This was a pleasant surprise. It's very budget but rooms are CLEAN, bedding comfortable and the location fabulous (right on top of station). Breakfast not great for gluten free options (no gluten free bread) but that's me being picky.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyElysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. We were delighted to read your comments, its fantastic to hear that we contributed towards making your stay at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn so memorable. Next time feel free to chat with the Team regarding Gluten Free items at breakfast, we would be more than happy to help you out and ensure you are set up for the day. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here last week for 4 nights while working just west of the city.

Location wise, it is excellent, close to Charing Cross station (on top of it!) and a 2 minute walk from Sauchiehall Street. Good bars and restaurants all close to hand.

Checking in was good, a small issue with my bill was quickly resolved without any fuss.

The room was small and on the 11th floor, but it was kept clean and at a good temperature.

The bar / restaurant was quiet but friendly. Food was of a decent quality.

Breakfast can get busy... check the poster in the lifts for the "quiet times"

As a place to stay while on business or for a small weekend break it is well worth a visit.

All in all, I feel it was excellent value for money.

Thanks

Room Tip: My room was on the 11th floor and had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were taken here as a birthday treat. Our first visit to Glasgow. It's in an ideal location. Not far to the city centre and its walkable. Lots of restaurants etc close by. Rooms are basic but comfortable with all that you need for a short break. Staff are helpful and friendly. It's not the first time we have stayed at Premier Inn and we definitely will be using hem again.

Room Tip: If you want coffee in the bar it stops serving hot drinks at 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $59 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing