We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We wanted a reasonably centrally located hotel that was pretty cheap but reliable - in the end we plumped for this and we were very pleasantly surprised. The views from the tall building are pretty good and although we ignored the overpriced breakfasts (much more, and better, available in town)

Cheap and surprisingly cheerful.

Room Tip: No real advice to give - you have no control, it's all allocated before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indigo_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and we agree, the views are great - especially from the higher rooms! When you choose to stay again feel free to give us a call in advance and we can try to allocate you a higher floor room again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Premier Inn .Staff very friendly. Food tasty and it was an good location to explore Glasgow.The rooms are comfortable and clean.There could be some more storage space in the bathroom

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

usually try to book this when in Glasgow. Its just off sauchiehall street at the top, 15 minute walk up this shopping street from the main rail and bus stations. The reception does look a bit unwelcoming but staff are friendly and rooms comfy. All in all its god value for money in a fairly central location.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor south or east facing room at recepion for good views over the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for your review regarding Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to check in at 2.30pm to be told that my room wasn't ready even though check in is advertised as from 2pm on the Premier Inn website. When I queried this I was told by the man at reception that 'check in is FROM 2pm' as if to imply that the rooms may or may not be ready. I again queried this stating that I worked in a hotel and that our check in is from 2.30pm which means that rooms are ready for guests arriving from 2.30pm onwards, to which he replied 'It all depends on what time the other guests check out and we've been very busy with tourists and foreigners and your hotel won't be as big as this one so you have to wait upstairs for your room.' By this point I was not happy and told him I had somewhere to be at 4pm to which he replied 'and so do many of these other people, come back at 3pm'. I was not the only one that was left waiting for my room.

If a hotel advertises check in from 2pm then guests rooms should be ready for them to check in at 2pm! The responses and explanations that I got from the man at reception were poor and I am still waiting for an apology that the room wasn't ready. I do understand that sometimes it's impossible to turn around all of the rooms by check in time if there has been a very late check out but going by other reviewers comments this looks to be a common occurrence. Premier Inn need to reconsider either their staffing levels, their check out time or their check in time and stop advertising something that they can't deliver. A simple 'We are sorry that your room isn't ready but we are working hard to ensure that it is ready by 3pm' would have been better than the poor response that was given to me.

That said when we finally got to our room it was clean and comfortable so it is a shame that the check in and attitude of the staff was so poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhionna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The room was very dirty on arrival, we reported to housekeeping of which someone came with cleaning materials to clean the room whilst we were trying to get changed. Duty manager ten came up and informed us the company had no intention to inject money into the building. On our return to a very warm room, we found the air conditioning was broken, we had a terrible nights sleep. On check out the receptionist offered a full refund however I was told to claim from the agency, still waiting 2 weeks later.
Having left feedback on the company website, no one has responded, very disappointed with the lack of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grizzlygirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. I am sorry to learn that your refund has still not been processed, please talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Received a warm welcome from the staff. Went up to room to find that the A/C was stuck on heat and the room was sweltering, I popped back down and told reception. They promptly switch and upgraded our room to a larger room on the east side of the building.

The room we had been placed on was on the corner of the building and had large bay windows over looking the city.

Overall experience was good compared to a few others around the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very little to fault. Room was large (though going by some other reviews on here it sounds like we got lucky on this one), very clean and well equipped (for the price). Despite the nearby motorway and station, exterior noise levels were minimal, while noise carried along the corridors (Friday night stay in a city, say no more) was no worse than in other similar hotels. Some reviewers have noted the staff to be helpful when asked, but not very proactive; I can see where they're coming from, though personally I found it refreshing to meet staff who were helpful responding to actual queries, rather than robotically reciting the script they were taught on a training course... Location couldn't have been much more convenient - to say it's easily accessible from Charing Cross station is an understatement! Getting from Queen Street station to inside our room in under 5 minutes (trains from the city centre at around the £1 mark) was probably quicker than staying in a hotel in the centre! Didn't try the food or bar, so can't comment.

On the down side...
-The 'double' bed being two attached singles, as mentioned in other reviews, isn't ideal, although we didn't find it as bad as has been suggested elsewhere, and slept well enough.
-The approach to the hotel, although clearly beyond Premier Inn's control, is a little seedy. To keep a sense of perspective, we arrived at midnight, complete with bags, and didn't feel insecure in the least, but this might perhaps be different for a single woman, etc.
-Aircon in the rooms is quite loud, probably too much so to sleep with. We were fine giving it a good blast for a few minutes then turning it off for the night, but on a hot night this might be a problem.
-To be pedantic, the shower was also a bit on the weak side, but not enough to be a particular problem.

Overall, we got our room for a little over Travelodge prices, and it was a world apart; if you can do the same I wouldn't hesitate for a moment! For a longer stay I might be concerned about some of the small rooms people have mentioned, and the approach to the hotel may put off a family group, but for our 2 night stay it was ideal.

Room Tip: Room 501 was large, fresh and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7029ClunCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $59 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing