We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed just one night, no meals taken in Hotel. Room was particulary small, only normal size double bed would fit, unusual for Premier Inn, but looks as though the room allocation was just the luck of the draw as we could see from floor plan other rooms were spacious. That apart for one night it was excellent value and would definitely book there again if we are in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had another great stay here .When we booked we asked for the same room and wasnt disappointed.Always clean .we will be back next year.Also we had a great time on the open bus tour agian 1st class . very close to all the large shops.

Room Tip: go high great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetteodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

First, a preamble: Glasgow's motorways cut a cruel swathe through some of Scotland's grandest architecture in the mid-Nineteen Sixties so that the monuments and statues that were allowed to remain look a bit like the remnants of a lost civilisation. Not that the Charing Cross area didn't have some very unsavoury crimes in its Victorian period. You can be both posh, and murderous!
But, if you can make the grey concrete highways disappear in your mind's eye, there's still many fine sandstone tenements to be found: and, believe it or not, an excellent Woodlands Art Walk that's well worth googling.
Having been drawn to the area, for various reasons, I'm beginning to make sense of its labyrinthine ways. The Mitchell Library is well worth a visit, being the biggest reference library in Western Europe; and you surely cannot miss the iconic Memorial Fountain, erected by public subscription in 1895, to celebrate the life of a popular local MP.
Use it as a landmark, when you're getting slightly mislaid!
I did, when I was seeking the Premier Inn, and missing it because I forgot to raise my eyes, as I turned the corner.
It's entrance is (if not exactly cunningly concealed) a test for one's individual satellite navigation. But not for long! Why I could get there sooooo easily now I know the way.
And, believe me, I like it so much I'll be very happy to stay again, and again.
Truly, madly, deeply, it's excellent value; and the staff are exemplary in their thoughtful attention.
Yes, if I'm waxing lyrical it's because this chain of hotels does what it says, plus a bit more.
It has a very good choice of food on the evening menu (I went for the fish and chips and a glass of an excellent red Argentinian wine) and I would not, could not fault the breakfast choices.
I slept soundly after a bath (luxury- I don't much care for showers) and (if I was to voice one small criticism) it would be my preference for a small tablet of soap and a bottle of bath lotion.
But, as I can always bring my own, I am not going to carp.
And this is all I am going to say because you're going to find all of this is true, when you make that booking, aren't you?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We usually stay at the Premier Inn chain and most of them are pretty decent (some better than others). This one is a little older than some of the others we've stayed at but it's still clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly. It's within walking distance of the city center and shows and pubs and so on. It was our first time in Glasgow and I think if I went again I'd probably stay in the one in the city center. Still, we managed to get some good walking in. We didn't have breaky or eat in the restaurant but I noticed that plenty did and it seemed good enough. Must do's for other first time visitors are : comedy at the strand comedy club (a short walk away), dinner at Schoolhouse pub, hot chocolate or a decent cappuccino at The Chocolate Factory just across the road, and a must do....drinks and appetizers with friendly helpful service at the Baby Grand pub just a few yards away from the entrance - brilliant find. We practically lived there!

Room Tip: It's 12 stories high so try get a room near the top....great exercise running down the stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiGlGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great staff .helpful thoughful .made us aware of local areas to visit. Room also comfortable.clean very welcoming. Its so relaxing to know there never is problem when we stay. Hard to pack up leave lovely atomsphere.all around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having a nostalgic mini break to my roots. The reception was warm and welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and well appointed. The dining room had a varied menu and the food was very good served by friendly and efficient staff. Overall found this stay great value for money

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgo45hlb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I wish I'd read some other reviews before i booked this. I thought it was a safe bet booking with Premier Inn as they had a standard set up /quality in all their places. i was very wrong. the room was tiny (although I booked/paid for a double), really grubby everything and smelt bad. Reception wasn't interested in helping at all, I got the impression they though it was all great. I find it interesting that when you look through reviews, I'm repeating what other people have said before, and even though they've been responded to by e-mail, it's obvious they've not solved the problems. Shame no-one was even the slightest interested in solving anything for me. It's completely put me off Prem. inn and I'll avoid in future

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $60 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing