We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Got caught out in Glasgow and had to stay the night unexpectedly. I've stayed here before and have always been satisfied with all aspects of the service. This time though , I had no booking and no advance warning. As someone just walking in off the street, it was rather in hope than expectation that I approched the desk. Tired and fed up , I was anticipating a rigmarole which I could do without. The desk staff could not have been friendlier or more efficient and helpful.I was expecting to get fleeced but I was amazed by their efforts to get me the best deal. In no time at all I had my room at a very good rate and with the minimum of fuss. The three staff on duty were a credit to their profession. I only remember one name badge which was a blonde lady called Mary.So Mary and your colleagues who were with you on that Sunday in February, thanks and if your bosses are reading this, GIVE THESE GIRLS A RISE

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONLYTHEBEST4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here as part of a large group....excellent location for bars and clubs...main shopping district only 5-8 mins walk away....got taxi from central station only 4 pounds...all the staff were great during our stay they were more than helpful..older premier inn but it is very clean and comfortable and ideal if staying with a group...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked the hotel as it appeared to be the best price for the quality required. It was just around the corner from the Kings theater and the train station was next door. Staff were friendly, professional and accommodating. I stayed with my 9 year old daughter and felt safe and comfortable.I will definitely use again if the need arises.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thistlerose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

a good location if you want to visit some of the attractions as it is central for them all, longest walk is 30 mins in any direction. The hotel was clean, tidy and the staff friendly, that said it is in need of a refurb, as others have said it is looking a bit shabby. The heating isn't brilliant but there was a heater in the room so we made use of that. For £19.00 a night there's no complaints here
Breakfast was good, hot and plentiful.

Room Tip: higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebud138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a double room at the top floor of the hotel, enjoying some nice views of the city. The rooms may be small, but were clean and the bathroom even had a bathtub. The service was friendly. We had the full breakfast one morning and it is ok, good value if you like to start your day with a large meal.
The location is perfect for exploring both East and West Glasgow and there are plenty of little restaurants nearby if you are hungry.

Room Tip: Get a room high up for a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corvicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and on each occasion have been pleased with the standards
of cleanliness ,comfort. Despite the location it is not noisy and there is air conditioning in the rooms. Other chains could learn lessons from this hotel and Premier
Reception and restaurant staff friendly and helpful ....barman needs lessons from them ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1amnotanumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Managed to get this hotel at a bargain rate and stay over in Glasgow instead of having to use the fearsome night bus.

The hotel was easy enough to find and has a huge car park next door which came in at £10.50 for about 22 hours, get your car park ticket scanned at reception before you check out then pay at the car park.

Check in was easy, friendly and very helpful. We were on the 8th floor and once in the room we were glad we'd long ago given up "cat swinging", cos on first impressions the room wasn't big enough to swing a cat in!

However after a little while we realised it was fine for a night and had everything we needed, comfy bed, soundproof windows, a great shower and it was clean as a whistle.

All in we'd book again, even if they do insist in using Lenny Henry to promote the company....

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you want some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $66 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing