We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location at great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is in a very convenient location above Charing Cross train station and next to the M8. It is very easy to walk into the main shopping areas of the city and is close to Bath Street and Sauchiehall Street which have plenty of bars and restaurants. We never ate here as there is so much to offer in the vicinity.
Our room was clean and well supplied with towels and tea/coffee etc. The bed was comfortable, our only gripe was the intense whistling from the gale force winds but the hotel can hardly be responsible for the Scottish weather!!
We were in town for a wedding and the hotel staff looked after many of the guests. They were always polite and helpful with local information and calling numerous taxis.
Overall I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again, especially as booking in advance we were able to get rooms for 319!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    781
    388
    146
    86
See reviews for
445
695
172
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Good location. Good service. We had book last minute and we were very pleased with our decision. When we arrived we decided to book a meal at the hotel. We chose the £22 deal for meal and breakfast, while we enjoyed the meal and it was good value, you are in walking distance from many lovely restaurant (many with good reviews on tripadvisor).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

The Premier Inn at Charing Cross Glasgow is a convenient central point for business in Glasgow. The rooms are basic and clean. The staff is polite. The location is very good: you can easily walk to Sachiehall and Buchanan Streets and most businesses downtown. The pubs on the west inn are a bit of a hike though. I was pleasantly surprised by the qquiet of the hotel- especially since it sits right on top of Charing Cross station. My room was even right over the train station entrance and I never heard noise from the station. This property is a decent lower cost option to the Marriott and Hilton located along the same street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

was very impressed with the premier inn, excellent location and very handly next to train station. had breakfast 1 day and it was fantastic so much choice and all very fresh, also the evening meal that i had one night was fantastic value and so had a meal for the following night of my stay. the beds were very comfortable and modern looking rooms. maybe a repaint would be good as some paint chipping but other than that would recommend this hotel to the queen!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyw634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

stayed one night at premier inn. room was immaculate as was bedding and towels bed was really comfy had a great nights sleep ,tea cofee in your room,flat screen tv as well will recommend this hotel to all friends and family

Room Tip: could not add anything as was reall impressed with everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1liz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at the Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) for 3 nights from 5-8 November.
The hotel was located just 1 minute ( literally a stone's throw!) from the Charing Cross train station. The hotel's location appeared to be safe and relatively peaceful.The room itself was of a decent size, bathroom and room was clean and well-maintained in general.

The bed, pillows and quilt cover were very comfortable and provided a solid night's rest. Front desk staff were adequately helpful, check in/check out was swift and took only 2 minutes.
As for the surroundings, it was a pleasant 10 minute walk from Glasgow's main shopping and tourist stretch.

My only feedback is that (1) Check in time could be earlier at 12pm (2) Hotel should be fully wifi-enabled and wifi should be complimentary for all guests.
Overall, good value for a well-located hotel. I paid about US$80/night through Expedia.com

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor , non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatcat2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The location of this hotel is right next to the Charring Cross railway station, a 2 minute trip to Queen Street station or a 10 minute walk so central to most things.

Managed to get a great rate with a flight and hotel booking for one night. The staff at reception on check-in where polite, although did not seem to have a clue at how to complete check in as I did not book direct.

Room was clean but on the small side, however, fine for my needs as it was just a night stop. Tea and coffee facilities are available in rooms but for a double room, providing just 1 coffee sachet and tea bag is in my opinion, tight.

Bathroom is the usual standard for a premier inn with shower gel fixture on the wall, however this ran out during a shower.
Sadly, at 3am, I was woken up by a group of drunken people attempting to gain access to my room and no doubt others too for around 15 minutes. I know you expect some drunk people on a Friday night, but I would have thought the hotel could try to put groups of people on a certain level and couples and solo travellers on another, as I did request a quiet part of the hotel. Sadly, that put a downer on my experience here with the lack of shower gel and coffee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metromuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing