We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for the West End of Glasgow”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
London, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ideal location for the West End of Glasgow”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely leafy area of Glasgow. Very pleasant gentleman checked us in. The rooms were clean and had everything you would need. This hotel was very inexpensive! Enjoyed the lovely cooked breakfast! We stayed one night, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    89
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
51
80
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'd read the reviews before we stayed and there was much reference to room 17 being not so good. I'd forgotten to say we didn't want that room so when we arrived I was horrified to find that it was the last room left. What monsters lurked in that room? I mentioned it to the lady and she scoffed at those reviews.
Generally she was right. It's an OK room, the only negative being the wall outside the window so there is little view. The mattress (mentioned by others) had been replaced with a good one. The room was clean, the shower small but good enough once you figured it out. The cleaning staff were friendly. Most importantly I'm a poor sleeper and it's a quiet room (once you turn off the fridge).
The Ambassador itself is nice enough, a bit aged perhaps but we like old places as long as they aren't too noisy or firetraps. We didn't eat breakfast there so no comment but it looked good through the windows as we walked past.
We'd probably stay there again if we had a reason to be in West End, but would inquire if any of the front rooms (more expensive I think) were available, as they would have views across to the greenery across the road.

Room Tip: Consider a front room for the extra cost. If you get room 17 don't worry it's OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

So firstly to put my review in context I'm a Glaswegian born and bred, but I have lived away for 14 years. My family all still live in the West End and when it came time to take my partner for his 1st trip North I knew the vibrant West End was the place to be.
I've often passed this hotel/SC apartments and it's never failed to look well maintained and clean from the outside.
Upon arrival service from the staff couldn't have been more courteuos or efficient.
We have a self catering apartment, the hotel was full booked, and it was a large sized room as I'd have expected from this size of the building, with a large shower room/toilet, kitchen, dining table etc.
All incredibly clean!

As for location you can't do better.....all the amenities of the west end and transport links a plenty to access all of Glasgow and indeed Scotland.

Very impressed with the value for money.
Yes...it's not 100% the most modern neither I nor my partner could fault it.

Will be booking again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondiegirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for three nights in September.
The hotel is in a perfect location in the west end and is within walking distance of all the restaurants and pubs. It is also near public transport including the subway.
I felt very welcome by the hotel staff and the room was comfortable
I would recommend the Ambassador Hotel if you were to visit this part of Glasgow.
John

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pleasant spot, lovely staff and the building itself is clean and modernized if only they would take the extra step. I had a small room, more like a long closet with a window that looked out onto the street and although the room was comfortable the bed was not. The mattress sagged in the center and as it was a twin mattress there was no where to roll to to avoid the sag. The other issue was the bathroom. Clean and modern with a demand hot water in the shower but you couldn't turn on the light without a very noisy fan running as well and because of the narrow room to open the bath door meant blocking the entry completely which was quite awkward. Breakfast was fine, cooked to order but the coffee came out of a dispensing machine, something that always makes me nervous as one doesn't really know how clean it is.
All in all I am sure there are better spots to stay but for the money its in a good location and as I said the staff is great so if you don't mind a bit of discomfort this is a great place to stay when in west Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are sorry your stay at the Ambassador was not as good as you had hoped. We have replaced the bed, if you had spoken to reception while you were here we do have a stock of mattresses and it could have been changed immediately, we do rely on guest's to report these things to us so that we can take some action. The reason there is a fan running in the bathroom when the light is on is because there is no window in the bathroom and regulations demand that bathroom's are ventilated, we will however check to see if it needs replaced. We do however take exception to your comment about the coffee machine, as you remarked the hotel and room etc were clean, the same applies to our cofffee machine, it is run through its cleaning cycle each morning after breakfast, if it is not cleaned properly it will stop working, we pride ourselves on our standards and that applies across the board, including breakfast routines. The staff appreciate the kind comments with reference to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
276 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We paid a fleeting visit to Glasgow and booked the Ambassador as previous experience proved very comfortable indeed.
On this occasion we had been upgraded to the apartments next door. Apt 9 was very big with a double and single bed quite close together then a 3 piece suite and a dinning area under a huge bay window overlooking the river. The bathroom was very clean but really needed a better shower.
We didn't use the kitchen facilities but you could quite easily self cater here there seemed to be everything you would need.
Breakfast was available in the main hotel but we didn't have it on this visit.
Sleep quality was a bit disappointing as our mattress was very hard and past its best.
Same friendly service as always. We will stay again and as I informed the receptionist, I hope the mattress will have been replaced with something more comfortable.
In short if you want a great little hotel close to West End shops and bars this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invergordon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel in such a quiet peaceful area of Glasgow but not too far from the city centre. Right beside Botanic Gardens. Not far from subway. Spacious clean ensuite rooms with kettle, tea, coffee, milk, sugar & biscuits (which were restocked daily). Small fridge, dressing table with mirror and full length mirror. Telephone and tv with all the freeview channels. Extremely comfortable beds with adequate pillows and bedding.
Friendly helpful staff. Easy and quick check in and out. Simple to use entry system (keys).
Just brilliant, would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing