We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but looks a little tired in places.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value but looks a little tired in places.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Room 7 for 3 nights. Generally tidy and clean but the bathroom could do with refurbishment. The grout in the shower's tiles was dirty and the soap dish was broken. The bathroom heater did not work but reception knew about it.
Sound proofing between rooms could do with improvement! Smell of cooking pervaded the room in the morning.
Generally good value for money in most respects, especially given its location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    86
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
51
77
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
270 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My second visit here in a month. This time we had a twin overlooking the rear car park . Room not large but adequate as were Bathroom facilities. Handy little fridge plus tea/coffee facilities. The best thing about this hotel is the friendly staff . Breakfast comes a close second. Very close to botanic gardens and handy for shops and bars in west end. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting the in laws and it was such a great location in the middle of Glasgow's west end. The rooms were clean and great value for money. We had 2 children and the staff were happy to help with suggestions on things to do with the kids. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for somewhere with a great location and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpirr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

On arrival I was greeted with a warm welcome and check-in was dealt with very efficiently. It is a cosy hotel and staff will go out of their way to help with any queries. My room was very clean and comfortable. There was a good choice of breakfast on offer, and the hot breakfast was freshly cooked to perfection. The hotel is situated close to the West End and within easy distance to the City Centre. I couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaM247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Ambassador Hotel is a perfect place, if you are looking for a quite place to relax with your family or friends. All the guys here are very cool and they will really make you feel at home. They are very polite and understand the needs of travelers very well. Rooms are very clean and well-appointed with things of comfort. All meals are good. I stayed here recently with my boyfriend and really enjoyed a lot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebnemAnkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was a great little find. We usuaslly stick to the branded hotels however this hotel was the closest to our friend who we were up visiting. Couldnt fault it in the slightest except maybe that the rooms could have been a little bit bigger. Free parking was a bonus. We didnt except this and the staff were great. Very helpfull in finding us the sightseeing bus and checking it had disabled facilities. No restaurant but we found many good places to eat on the road opposite

Room Tip: They have apartments next door which are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenew953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice little B and B with a great location. We had no problem finding a restaurant nearby. Breakfast was the hi light. Not had an old fashioned fry up in years. Bar was a bit poorly stocked though

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinep036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing