We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming good location for the west end”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming good location for the west end”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I was supposed to stay here for 2 nights but due to lastminute.com messing up my booking I could only stay one night as they were fully booked. However Jean on the desk sorted everything out and booked me in at their sister hotel The Albion for my second night.. Lastminute hadn't processd the booking properly so I hadn't been booked in! The hotel and breakfast were fine and the room adequate, clean and warm, which suited my needs. and The staff were so helpful. I would stay there again, but if booking through lastminute would ring the hotel to confirm the booking next time...just in case!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guardianangel1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    94
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
56
84
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. Nice, clean and very comfortable establishment. The breakfast was very good each morning and the staff there was excellent in helping me out with any information i needed for my stay there. Very friendly people and there was free wifi in the rooms which helped me out alot. Most hotels charge for wifi. Nice
Patio in back with table and chairs for people that like to smoke. Free parking! I would definitley go back to this hotel again. Dorothy/USA

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Public areas were clean enough, didn't think to check shower cubicle till I was about to get in it, I didn't !!! We were visiting with friends on their first trip to Glasgow, didn't impress them.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank menjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed at the Ambassador because we couldn't get in at the Bellhaven where we generally stay. We visit Glasgow every year for 'Whisky Live'.
The location is fantastic, just behind the Botanic Gardens. The room wasn't massive, but was clean. There was plenty of hanging space and drawers for clothing. Plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the room and a hairdryer that worked. We stayed for 2 nights in total and were very comfortable. The Breakfast on both mornings was very hot, freshly cooked and very nice.
We are in Glasgow again in November, so have booked into the Ambassador again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgenFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Firstly, I wouldn't call this a hotel but a guest house. If you were only staying for one night you wouldn't notice that the room or en-suite are never cleaned, only tidied, but I stayed for a week. The traffic noise from the nearby main road into the city centre never stops. A great pity as the location next to the lovely Botanic Gardens in the West End is very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleEyes43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We were transferred over from a sister hotel on arrival. Were promised an upgrade for the inconvenience but were put in an attic room which was tiny. There was only a small area of the room that my husband could stand up straight in! Shower head was broken and the water was luke warm. The cooked breakfast was dried up and of very inferior quality and we all had to squeeze passed each other with our hot drinks when you wanted refills as the dispenser was on the bar. We also waited ages to be served. The Reception was unmanned as we checked out so there was no one around to complain to. I wrote to the hotel with these complaints and although they replied, they did not in any way address them and they certainly did not apologise. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

So handy - not far off the motorway and in the west end but all importantly quiet - this is a great find. Good transport in to towm if you don't want to take the car. Such a welcoming young man at reception who was so helpful - even went outside to show us exactly which way to go. Comfy room and nice to have a fridge in it - so much better than some larger and fancier places. Also car parking which is a huge plus. Nice breakfast too - cooked breakfast was grilled not fried which is another important plus for me. Will definitley saty here again if in Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScottishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
252 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#70 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 95 in Glasgow
310 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#54 of 95 in Glasgow
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing